Putnam wins $1,000 Prelim Feature

    Tire photo

    WHITE CITY — CJ Putnam won the 25-lap Preliminary Feature for the IMCA Modifieds Saturday night at Southern Oregon Speedway. Putnam’s victory came on the first night of the R Charles Snyder Salute, and earned him a $1,000 prize.

    Putnam led from the start, and Bobby Hogge IV made a back straightaway pass on Kellen Chadwick for second on lap 14.

    The race didn’t have a yellow flag until Robby Sawyer spun on the front stretch on lap 24. Hogge had been pressuring Putnam in traffic when the caution flag waved. However, Putnam led the one lap shootout for the victory. Hogge settled for second ahead of Nick Trenchard, John Campos and Clint Reichenbach.

    Tyler won the 20-lap IMCA Sport Modified Invitational Main Event. Rodgers took the lead from Jimmy Ford on a lap five restart and pulled away to a straightaway advantage by the waving of the checkered flag. Ford settled for second, followed by Matt Sanders, Guy Ahlwardt and Justin Foux.

    Josh King won his second 15-lap SODCA Dwarf Car Main Event of the season. Ryan Smith led six laps before being passed by Kalvin Morton. Smith spun in Turn 2 for a lap seven caution flag and retired to the pits along with Morton. King had the lead at that point and led the rest of the way for the win. Brock Peters made it a two-time champion 1-2 finish as Camden Robustelli, Chad Cardoza and Mason Lewman completed the Top 5.

    The IMCA Modified and Sport Modifieds ran two sets of 10-lap heat races with point totals earned in both determining the Top 16 divers who will automatically earn starting spots in the big money main events. Points were unavailable at press time.

    Unofficial Race Results

    IMCA Modifieds

    Heat Race Winners Round 1 (10 Laps)-Tyler Smith, CJ Putnam, Kellen Chadwick, Bobby Hogge IV, Jake Mayden. Heat Race Winners Round 2 (10 Laps)-Albert Gill, CJ Putnam, Kellen Chadwick, Bobby Hogge IV, John Campos. Invitational Feature (25 Laps)-CJ Putnam, Bobby Hogge IV, Nick Trenchard, John Campos, Clint Reichenbach.

    IMCA Sport Modifieds

    Heat Race Winners Round 1 (10 Laps)-Jimmy Ford, Braxton Possinger, Doug Coffman, Justin Foux, Guy Ahlwardt, Tyler Rodgers. Heat Race Winners Round 2 (10 Laps)-Mike Medel, Jimmy Lipke, Craig Nieman, Rich McCoy, Chris Frisbie, Bruce Ray. Invitational Feature (20 Laps)-Tyler Rodgers, Jimmy Ford, Matt Sanders, Guy Ahlwardt, Justin Foux.

    SODCA Dwarf Cars

    Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Kalvin Morton, Josh King, Brock Peters, Ryan Smith. Main Event (15 Laps)-Josh King, Brock Peters, Camden Robustelli, Chad Cardoza, Mason Lewman.

    News In Photos

      Loading ...