Holmes wins first sprint car feature at SO Speedway

    Tire photo

    WHITE CITY — Tanner Holmes won his first 25-lap winged sprint car main event of the season at Southern Oregon Speedway Saturday.

    Holmes has won several outlaw kart championships and finished second in Oregon Sprint Car Week Of Speed points this year. Holmes led the race from the start.

    A yellow flag on Lap 18 gave Bailey Hibbard a shot at Holmes, but Holmes maintained his rapid pace on the restart for the impressive win. Hedge Carter finished third, followed by new champion David Hibbard and Merissa Henson.

    Dave Foote won his second 20-lap late model main. Foote led from the start, leaving the battle for second. Trophy-dash and heat-winner Bob Dees held second until Miles Deubert passed him low in Turn 4 on Lap 12.

    Dees pitted late, and Foote won by a straightaway ahead of Deubert, Josh Sim, John Dees and Nathan Augustine.

    Eric Aos won his second 15-lap late model lites main. Trophy-dash and heat-race winner Lee Doty led seven laps before retiring from the race during a caution period.

    Aos had the lead from that point and kept it. Greg Arnold battled Charlie Eaton to finish second, but Eaton clinched the division championship with a third-place finish.

    David Steele won his ninth 20-lap mini stock main. Steele also clinched the track championship. He led all the way. A yellow flag on Lap 19 wiped out a straightaway lead for Steele. However, he held off Hunter Magnan on the one-lap shootout to win.

    Brandyn Wonsyld won his third 20-lap hornets main. Wonsyld trailed Jenna Hedges for two laps before making a pass on the front stretch to take the lead. Wonsyld stretched his lead to a half-lap by the waving of the checkered flag in the non-stop event.

    Heat-winner Dylan Sauer passed Hedges for second on Lap 14.

    Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars

    Heat Winners (6 Laps) — Hedge Carter, Tanner Holmes. Scramble (6 Laps) — Charlie Thompson. Main Event (25 Laps) — Tanner Holmes, Bailey Hibbard, Hedge Carter, David Hibbard, Merissa Henson.

    Late Models

    Heat Winners (6 Laps) — Bob Dees, Dave Foote. Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — Bob Dees. Main Event (20 Laps) — Dave Foote, Miles Deubert, Josh Sim, John Dees, Nathan Augustine.

    Bobbio’s Pizza Mini Stocks

    Heat Winners (6 Laps) — David Steele, Gary Anderson. Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — Gary Anderson. Main Event (20 Laps) — David Steele, Hunter Magnan, Steve Goetz, Ashtin Hedges, Gary Anderson.

    JOAT Labs Hornets

    Heat Winners (6 Laps) — Jenna Hedges, Dylan Sauer. Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — Dylan Irving. Main Event (20 Laps) — Brandyn Wonsyld, Dylan Sauer, Jenna Hedges, Dylan Irving, Bree Tritchler.

    Valley Store All Late Model Lites

    Heat Winner (6 Laps) — Lee Doty. Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — Lee Doty. Main Event (25 Laps) — Eric Aos, Greg Arnold, Charlie Eaton, Dusty Aos, Lee Doty.

    Kart Racing

    CHAMPIONS CROWNED: At White City, the outlaw kart season at Little Southern Oregon Speedway ended Friday. The track crowned champions in six divisions and presented the top five drivers in the four primary classes with trophies.

    Trevor Grimes won the battle, but Vinny DeBenedetti won the war in the 250 kart division. Just by taking the green flag, DeBenedetti wrapped up the division championship.

    Lori Fuller ran impressively all night in the speedway karts. After out running Ken Gaines to win both heat races, she once again repelled every attempt by Gaines to get by her on the outside to win her second 12-lap main event.

    In doing so, she overtook Steve Rambo to win the division championship.

    Ryan Hirschbock did everything he could in the box stock division by winning both heat races and his third 12-lap main. However, Keaton Augustine used his second-place finish to secure the division title ahead of Hirschbock.

    Carson Henson won a heat race and won his first beginners box stock 12-lap main. The win allowed him to hold off Malachi Johnson to win the division championship.

    Kenny Boardman won the 15-lap 500 open outlaw main and the heat race ahead of Bailey Sucich. The win gave Boardman the division crown.

    Jayme DeBenedetti won the 10-lap novice box stock main event and one of the heat races. By winning a heat race and finishing second in the main, Bhaltair Edwards claimed the championship ahead of Issac Grimes, who finished third in the main.

    News In Photos

      Loading ...