North’s Spence, South’s Bosters head SWC list

    Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneNorth’s Eli Spence runs for a first down in the first half of a recent game.

    North Medford record-holder Eli Spence and South Medford’s Boster brothers, Austin and Cole, each earned first-team acclaim to highlight recent all-conference football voting by coaches in the Southwest Conference.

    In all, the Panthers earned six first-team nods after tying for second place with Grants Pass behind Sheldon, while the Black Tornado placed two players on the first team.

    Spence broke North Medford’s single-season rushing record this past season, churning out 1,991 yards on 277 carries with 22 rushing touchdowns. The previous rushing record was held by Ryan Folsom, who ran for 1,743 yards in 2005.

    The 6-foot-5, 220-pound Spence, who recently picked up a scholarship offer from Portland State, also established new single-game standards for rushing yards (343) and rushing TDs (five) in North’s season-opening 55-27 win over McNary.

    Joining Spence on the first team was junior teammate Josh Baptiste, who was a first-team choice at defensive back.

    Austin Boster ranked second in SWC receiving, and the junior finished with 710 yards and 11 touchdowns on 35 receptions for South Medford. Cole Boster, a senior, was named to the first team at linebacker.

    Senior running back Terrence Butler totaled 806 yards rushing on 175 carries with 12 TDs for the Panthers to also earn first-team acclaim.

    First-team defensive honors went to senior defensive linemen Sam Willis and Justin Josephson and senior safety Jace Campbell after South Medford led the SWC in total defense (297 yards allowed) and scoring defense (17.9 points per game).

    SWC offensive player of the year honors went to Sheldon senior running back Matthew Burgess, while Roseburg senior linebacker Zack Mandera was the SWC defensive player of the year.

    After snapping South Medford’s two-year streak as conference champion, Sheldon’s Josh Line was named SWC coach of the year.

    The Irish earned 12 first-team honors to lead all teams, with Grants Pass and South Medford each registering six selections.

    Earning a spot on the first team on both sides of the ball for the Cavemen was senior Randy Clark, a receiver and defensive back.

    Joining Clark on the first team for Grants Pass were sophomore Andrew Prulhiere (offensive guard), senior Corbin Anderson (offensive tackle), senior Warren Stark (defensive lineman) and senior Jacob Hancock (linebacker).

    All-SWC Football

    OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Matthew Burgess, Sr., Sheldon.

    DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Zack Mandera, Sr., Roseburg.

    COACH OF THE YEAR: Josh Line, Sheldon.



    CENTER: Andy Adams, Jr., Sheldon.

    GUARD: Andrew Prulhiere, So., Grants Pass; Seth Meier, Jr., Sheldon.

    TACKLE: Taylor Johnson, Jr., Sheldon; Corbin Anderson, Sr., Grants Pass.

    TIGHT END: Patrick Herbert, Sr., Sheldon.

    RUNNING BACK: Terrence Butler, Sr., South Medford; Eli Spence, Sr., North Medford; Matthew Burgess, Sr., Sheldon.

    RECEIVER: Austin Boster, Jr., South Medford; Zach Folsom, Sr., Sheldon; Randy Clark, Sr., Grants Pass.

    QUARTERBACK: Michael Johnson Jr., Sr., Sheldon.

    PLACEKICKER: Jay Kartub, So., Sheldon.


    LINEMAN: Warren Stark, Sr., Grants Pass; Austin Lasby, Sr., Sheldon; Sam Willis, Sr., South Medford; Justin Josephson, Jr., South Medford.

    LINEBACKER: Jacob Hancock, Sr., Grants Pass; Parker Wiles, Sr., Sheldon; Cole Boster, Sr., South Medford; Zack Mandera, Sr., Roseburg.

    DEFENSIVE BACK: Jack Folsom, Sr., Sheldon; Jace Campbell, Sr., South Medford; Randy Clark, Sr., Grants Pass; Josh Baptiste, Jr., North Medford; Collin Warmouth, Sr., Roseburg.

    PUNTER: Patrick Herbert, Sr., Sheldon.



    CENTER: Cadin Barker, Jr., Grants Pass.

    GUARD: Max Meirer, Jr., Sheldon; Fernando Alvarez, Sr., South Medford.

    TACKLE: Madden Salisbury, Sr., Sheldon; Jake Ramsay, Sr., South Medford.

    TIGHT END: Jett Carpenter, Jr., North Medford

    RUNNING BACK: Jaren Emptage, Sr., Grants Pass; Zack Mandera, Sr., Roseburg; Lane Shields, Jr., Sheldon.

    RECEIVER: D’Angelo Adams, Sr., Roseburg; Blain Hobbs, Sr., Grants Pass; Trevor Marthoski, Sr., South Medford.

    QUARTERBACK: Chase Coyle, Jr., Grants Pass.

    PLACEKICKER: Christian Pendleton, Sr., Grants Pass.


    LINEMAN: Madden Salisbury, Sr., Sheldon; Corbin Anderson, Sr., Grants Pass; Isaiah Lugo, Sr., Sheldon; Vincent Rivera, Sr., South Medford.

    LINEBACKER: Ben Hehlhaff, Jr., Sheldon; Cole Garske, Sr., South Medford; Blake Sellers, Sr., Grants Pass; Jake Henricks, Jr., Grants Pass.

    DEFENSIVE BACK: Jacob Frey, Sr., Sheldon; Calin Morgan, Sr., Sheldon; Austin Boster, Jr., South Medford; Joel Valadez, Jr., Grants Pass.

    PUNTER: Giovanni Bottero, Sr., South Medford.



    CENTER: Tony Bench, Sr., North Medford; Ramiro Cabrera, Sr., South Medford.

    GUARD: Logan Vinyard, So., Grants Pass; Kika Stone, Sr., North Medford; Hunter Blix, Jr., Roseburg.

    TACKLE: Jacob Hermant, Jr., South Medford; Thomas Ruth, Sr., Roseburg.

    RUNNING BACK: Mason DeVries, Jr., South Medford.

    RECEIVER: Korbin Lopez, Sr., Grants Pass; Jack Folsom, Sr., Sheldon; Braden Klinko, Sr., Sheldon.

    QUARTERBACK: Giovanni Bottero, Sr., South Medford; Collin Warmouth, Sr., Roseburg.


    LINEMAN: Hunter Blix, Jr., Roseburg; Juan Velazquez, Sr., North Medford.

    LINEBACKER: Jett Carpenter, Jr., North Medford.

    PUNTER: Collin Warmouth, Sr., Roseburg; Andrew Medley, Jr., Grants Pass.

    Reach reporter Kris Henry at 541-776-4488,, or

    News In Photos

      Loading ...