Crater trio earns first-team acclaim


    Staff reports

    Crater seniors Nehkyah Ellis, Aubrey Kievit and Rane Jensen each earned first-team recognition in the recent all-conference voting by Midwestern League volleyball coaches, with Leaf Jensen named MWL coach of the year after guiding his team to an undefeated league run.

    The 5-foot-10 Ellis, an outside hitter, entered the Class 5A state tournament with 242 kills, 115 digs and 38 aces as Crater’s top scoring threat.

    Kievit, a 5-1 defensive specialist, carried 140 digs and a 2.1 passing average into the state tourney, while the 5-4 Rane Jensen managed 180 digs and a 2.2 passing average as a libero.

    Churchill senior outside hitter Taylor Williams was named MWL player of the year.

    All-MWL Volleyball

    PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Taylor Williams, Sr., Churchill.

    COACH OF THE YEAR: Leaf Jensen, Crater.

    First Team

    Taylor Williams, Sr., OH, Churchill; Sophie Johnson, Sr., OH, Willamette; Nehkyah Ellis, Sr., OH, Crater; Kaitlen Haas, Sr., OH, Thurston; Aubrey Kievit, Sr., DS, Crater; Taylor Londo, Jr., OH, North Eugene; Hannah Randall, Jr., Setter, North Eugene; Rane Jensen, Sr., Libero, Crater.

    Second Team

    Sydney Philpott, Sr., Libero, Ashland; Peyton Espinosa, Sr., MB, Churchill; Ramyia Wendt, Sr., Setter, Churchill; Jadyn Carothers, Sr., Setter, Crater; Heather Colmer, Sr., DS, Crater; Maya Van Hook, Sr., MB, Crater; Alexis Hobie, So., OH, North Eugene; Morgan Gray, Sr., OH, Thurston; Jocelyn Dowdy, Jr., MB, Thurston.

    Honorable Mention

    Grace Angermeier, Jr., Setter, Ashland; Addison Lowder, Sr., MB, Crater; Emily Collie, So., Libero, North Eugene; Cameron Branch, Jr., MB, Springfield; Kate Bakken, Sr., OH/DS, Springfield; Marja Annus, Sr., MB, Thurston; McKenna Miller, Sr., Libero, Thurston; Alexi Sparks, Sr., Setter, Thurston; Jessie Henderson, Sr., Setter, Willamette; Kathryn Booth, Sr., Libero, Willamette; Nicole Bash, Jr., MB, Willamette.

    News In Photos

      Loading ...