South captures equestrian district title

CENTRAL POINT — The South Medford equestrian team won the large-team division championship at the Southern Oregon High School Equestrian Team Awards Ceremony at the Jackson County Fairgrounds and Expo Park.

The Eagle Point squad secured the medium-team district award, while Henley was the small-team champion.

The South Medford team included seniors Delaney Clark, Alexia Hulen and Kristen Patterson; juniors Mikyla Jahnke, Megan McGill and Claire Moore; sophomores Maddi Malkon and Kaylie Olchawa; and freshmen Hannah Barton and Brooke Toreson.

Clark broke the district record in pole bending and won the gold medal with a time of 20.98 seconds.

The Panthers also secured district championships in the freestyle 6-plus and team penning events.

Freestyle 6-plus gold medalists were Barton, Clark, Hulen, Jahnke, McGill, Moore, Patterson and Toreson. Team penning gold medalists were Clark, Hulen and Patterson.

Moore also took home gold in saddle seat and Patterson in individual flags.

Team championships were the result of cumulative points in more than twenty individual and team events during the three SOHSET district meets held in February, March and April at the Fairgrounds.

Sixteen high schools from Southern Oregon participated in this year's SOHSET season.

Qualifying athletes advance to the Oregon High School Equestrian Team State Championship meet May 16-20 in Redmond.


High Points Awards

VERSATILITY — Delaney Clark, South Medford

PERFORMANCE — Hannah Morris, Eagle Point

TIMED EVENTS — Kyra Bean, Hidden Valley

TEAM CONTRIBUTOR — Delaney Clark, South Medford, and Alexia Hulen, South Medford

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR — Brooke Toreson, South Medford

District Awards

LARGE TEAM — South Medford

MEDIUM TEAM — Eagle Point


Fred Boyce Cattle Award

Jose Stickel, Bonanza


Ashland High

SOHSET SCHOLARSHIPS — Josie Stickel, Bonanza; Rebecca Armstron, Bonanza; Shae Rogers, Eagle Point

TIM POWELL SCHOLARSHIP — Alexia Hulen, South Medford

Share This Story