South’s Schmerbach picked top SWC runner

South Medford freshman Emma Schmerbach was named girls runner of the year and North Medford placed three on the first team in all-Southwest Conference voting by the coaches.

Schmerbach won the SWC district title in 18 minutes, 38.1 seconds and placed seventh at the Class 6A state meet in 18:26.0.

Joining her on the girls first unit were North Medford’s M.J. Hamilton (senior), Emily Nash (freshman) and Victoria Messer (senior).

On the boys side, North Medford junior Jacob Allmaras was a first-team honoree after finishing third in the district meet.

SWC champion Daniel Beckstead of Grants Pass, a junior, was the league’s boys runner of the year.

All-SWC Cross Country


RUNNER OF THE YEAR: Emma Schmerbach, South Medford.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Jeff Hess, South Eugene.

First Team

Emma Schmerbach, South Medford; Melissa Berry, Sheldon; Caramia Mestler, Sheldon; Kaylin Sheley, Sheldon; Faith Schultz, Grants Pass; M.J. Hamilton, North Medford; Emily Nash, North Medford, Victoria Messer, North Medford.

Second Team

Claire Ebert, North Medford; Jazmin Duncan, South Medford; Jennifer Shelton, Sheldon; Kate Bouse, South Eugene; Sarah Krick, North Medford; Deanndria Shields, South Medford.

Honorable Mention

Melody McGrath, Grants Pass; Madelyn Hubbs, Sheldon; Abby Durrant, Grants Pass; Isabell Webber, Roseburg; Samantha Dara, Grants Pass; Emily McAllister, South Medford; Gretchen Schwartz, South Eugene.


RUNNER OF THE YEAR: Daniel Beckstead, Grants Pass.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Brayce Forsha, Sheldon.

First Team

Daniel Beckstead, Grants Pass; B.J. Sauter, South Eugene; Jacob Allmaras, North Medford; Hunter Agsten, Roseburg; Vincent Mestler, Sheldon; Peter Shen, South Eugene; Nathan Burton, Grants Pass.

Second Team

Nate Tavakolian, South Eugene; Luke Ramirez, South Medford; Andrew Hall, Sheldon; Ian Twyman, South Eugene; Truett Bostwick, South Medford; Spencer McNall, South Eugene; Ty Boster, South Medford.

Honorable Mention

Isaac Burgess, Grants Pass; Kelly Shedd, Sheldon; Zachary Traul, Roseburg; Reed Hungerford, South Medford; Elijah Hansen, Roseburg; Johan Jordaan, South Medford; Grayson Mazziotti, Sheldon.

Share This Story