1005053509 EJ.JPG
Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneAshland's EJ Holland crosses the finish line winning the boys 5A race at the State Cross Country Championships in Eugene Saturday.

PREP ROUNDUP: Holland 16th at XC nationals

PORTLAND — Ashland’s EJ Holland ran stride for stride with the nation’s top high school cross country runners before finishing 16th Saturday at the Nike Cross Nationals at Glendoveer Golf Course.

Holland, a junior who had won every race since the prep season began — including the 5A state meet, the Nike Cross Northwest Regional and the Nike BorderClash — had a time of 15 minutes, 17.6 seconds over the 5,000-meter layout.

Liam Anderson, a senior from Lakespur, California, who placed third a year ago, set a course record of 14:57.6. He’s the first to break 15:00 in the five years the meet has been held at Glendoveer.

Indiana’s Cole Hocker placed second in 15:00.9, and Colorado’s Cole Sprout, a junior with the nation’s top time, stayed with Anderson the longest before settling for third in 15:02.7.

Holland was among 18 in the front pack through one mile, each runner coming through in the 4:43 range.

He covered two miles in 9:45.2 and was only 1.1 seconds behind Anderson and Sprout.

Sprout, who owns the nation’s fastest time this fall of 14:33, was the top junior placer. Holland, who’s best is 14:53.2, was No. 8 in his class.

Katelyn Tuohy, of New York, won the girls race in 16:37.8, and Summit, of Bend, won the team girls team title, unseating four-time champion Fayetteville, Arkansas, and becoming the first West Coast girls team winner.


DOC PETERSON INVITATIONAL: At Corning, Calif.,Crater crowned three individual champions and placed first in the 17-team tournament.

The Comets received winning performances from Tanner Ulrey at 120, Hunter Hyatt (145) and Tony Flores (195).

Crater also had three wrestlers finish second.

The Comets demonstrated their depth by having seven wrestlers on their second team place in the tournament.

DAN VIDLAK INVITATIONAL: At Murphy, Eagle Point had seven champions in the tourney at Hidden Valley High.

The Eagles added four seconds and won with 362 points to second-place Hidden Valley’s 247.

South Medford finished fourth (198.5) with four individual winners.

The Eagles’ Luke Callahan (106 pounds), Trigger Weyers (113), Freddy Barajas (126), Bradey Thrash (138), Kyle O’Neil (152), Brian De La Cruz (160) and Marc Milazzo (195) all came out on top of their respective weight classes.

Eagle Point’s second-place competitors included Shayla McNulty (126), Danny Patterson (132), Dylan Dahling (138) and Nathan Garcia (182).

Capturing first place for the Panthers’ were Brayden Ostvik (120), Issac English (132), Andrew Hall (145) and Carlos Camacho (160).

TEAM SCORES: 1, Eagle Point, 362; 2, Hidden Valley, 247; 3, Mazama, 207; 4, South Medford, 198.5; 5, North Valley, 124; 6, South Umpqua, 120; 7, Klamath Union, 42; 8, Rogue River, 3.

106 — 1, Luke Callahan, Eagle Point; 2, Carter Lathrop, North Valley; 3, Taylor Morrison, Mazama.

113 — 1, Trigger Weyers, Eagle Point; 2, Kyler Pemberton, Mazama; 3, Isaiah Maulding, Eagle Point.

120 — 1, Brayden Ostvik, South Medford; 2, Hunter Lucas, Hidden Valley; 3, Ashton Stanturf, South Umpqua.

126 — 1, Freddy Barajas, Eagle Point; 2, Shayla McNulty, Eagle Point; 3, Luke Patterson, Eagle Point.

132 — 1, Isaac English, South Medford; 2, Danny Patterson, Eagle Point; 3, Pierce Reardon, Hidden Valley.

138 — 1, Bradey Thrash, Eagle Point; 2, Dylan Dahling, Eagle Point; 3, Noah Jones, South Medford.

145 — 1, Andrew Hall, South Medford; 2, Elijah Haley, Hidden Valley; 3, Seth McCoy, Eagle Point.

152 — 1, Kyle O’Neil, Eagle Point; 2, Jackson Markham, South Umpqua; 3, Brayden Morris, Hidden Valley.

160 — 1, Brian De La Cruz, Eagle Point; 2, Jullin Gardner, Mazama; 3, Cajun Simmons, South Umpqua.

170 — 1, Carlos Camacho, South Medford; 2, Eli Colas, North Valley; 3, Jacob Vargas, Mazama.

182 — 1, Dustin Brown, Hidden Valley; 2, Nathan Garcia, Eagle Point; 3, Zack Breyman, Hidden Valley.

195 — 1, Marc Milazzo, Eagle Point; 2, Chadow Rivera, Mazama; 3, Cade Wynne, Mazama.

220 — 1, Dominic Hankins, Mazama; 2, David Geyer, South Umpqua; 3, Esai Alvarez, Hidden Valley.

285 — 1, Shawn Scott, South Umpqua; 2, Christopher Woods, Hidden Valley; 3, Isaac Pena, Mazama.

Share This Story