North's Berryessa, Becker given SOH's top honors

North Medford junior Sierra Berryessa was named the Southern Oregon Hybrid player of the year, while sophomore teammate Maryssa Becker was given pitcher of the year honors and four other members of the Black Tornado made the SOH first team.

Berryessa led the Black Tornado attack with a .457 batting average, 18 runs scored and 12 stolen bases. She was third on the squad with nine RBIs and hit eight doubles.

Becker boasted a 9-0 record with a 1.09 ERA. In 58 total innings pitched, she allowed just 14 runs — only nine were earned — and had 69 strikeouts to just 11 walks. She was also second on the team with a .457 batting average and drove in a team-high 20 runs.

Pitcher Kelsie Bartley, catcher Amanda Wolfe, infielder Logan Hagey and outfielder Amanda Freitas were North's other first-team selections.

Bartley completemented Becker well, finishing the season with a 5-2 record and a 1.91 ERA. She yielded just 13 earned and struck out 47 compared to a mere nine walks in 48 innings of work.

Wolfe hit .409 and knocked in 16 runs while Freitas hit .412. Both committed only one error on the season. Hagey hit .333 and added six doubles.

The Black Tornado finished 14-2 in the SOH en route to the conference title.

Pitcher Renee Murphy, catcher Sarah Haga, infielders Malorie Mitchell and Haley Fox and outfielders Rachel Ray and Dennae Grant landed spots on the first-team list for Crater.

Crater's Chris Arnold was awarded SOH coach of the year honors. The Comets concluded the year with a 17-10 overall record and 12-4 mark in conference play. Crater fell to Roseburg 8-3 in the second round of the Class 6A state playoffs on Wednesday.

At the 5A level, Eagle Point senior pitcher Chloe Hanson was named the Southern Oregon Hybrid player of the year. Hanson, who finished the year 11-7, posted a 0.62 ERA with 58 strikeouts and just 13 walks in league play.

The Eagles went 17-10 overall and 3-0 during their two-team conference schedule. Eagle Point lost to Liberty 5-4 in the opening round of the 5A state playoffs on Wednesday.

In baseball, catcher Mike Macuk and infielders Corey Wynant and Bryce Crawford were SOH first-team selections for Crater.

South Medford pitchers Andrew Phillips and Nate Namanny and North Medford pitcher Gerardo Herrera and infielder Jessie Hornbrook were also first-team picks.

Roseburg's Josh Graham was the player of the year and teammate Jared Priestley was the pitcher of the year. Grants Pass' Brian Diatte was given the coach of the year award.

6A Softball All-SOH


Pitcher — Maryssa Becker, North Medford, So.; Renee Murphy, Crater, Jr.; Kelsie Bartley, North Medford, Jr.

Catcher — Sarah Haga, Crater, Sr.; Amanda Wolfe, North Medford, Sr.

Infield — Malorie Mitchell, Crater, So.; Haley Fox, Crater, Jr.; Tatum Anderson, Roseburg, Sr., Maryssa Becker, North Medford, So.; Logan Hagey, North Medford, Sr.

Outfield — Sierra Berryessa, North Medford, Jr.; Rachel Ray, Crater, Jr.; Amanda Freitas, North Medford, Sr.; Dennae Grant, Crater, Sr.

Utility/DH — Rashaun Sells, Grants Pass, Jr.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Sierra Berryessa, North Medford, Jr.

PITCHER OF THE YEAR — Maryssa Becker, North Medford, So.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Chris Arnold, Crater.


Pitcher — Makinna Akers, Roseburg, So.; Lucy Baldovino, South Medford, Sr.

Catcher — Katie Ramsay, South Medford, Fr.

Infield — Breanne Thomas, Roseburg, Sr.; Ricki Tacdol, South Medford, Jr.; Tasha Equitz, South Medford, Sr.; Hannah Leming, North Medford, Jr.; Kenzie Rhode, Crater, Jr.

Outfield — Sam Owirka, South Medford, Jr.; Alyssa Maurer, North Medford, Sr.; Beccah Maley, Roseburg, Jr.; Justine Rhines, Roseburg Jr.

Utility/DH — Katie Williamson, North Medford, So.


Pitcher — Grace Marsh, Grants Pass, Sr.

Infield — Kelsie Bartley, North Medford, Jr.; Jessica Glaeser, Grants Pass, Sr.; Jocilynn Ellis, North Medford, Fr.; Lindsey Namanny, South Medford, So.

Outfield — Kassi Murphy, Crater, Jr.; Olivia Beamish-White, South Medford, Jr.

5A Softball All-SOH


Pitcher — Chloe Hanson, Eagle Point, Sr.

Catcher — Christine McCready, Eagle Point, Jr.

Utility — Lizzy Scott, Ashland, Sr.

Infield — Nicole Lehman, Ashland, Jr.; Candace Rodgers, Eagle Point, Jr.; Rose Marston, Ashland, Sr.; Shauntel Rodgers, Eagle Point, Sr.

Outfield — Jennie Fernandes, Eagle Point, Sr.; Piper Cantrell, Ashland, Jr.; Cassie Hall, Ashland, Jr.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Chloe Hanson, Sr., Eagle Point.

6A Baseball All-SOH


Pitcher — Josh Robinson, Jr., Grants Pass; Nate Namanny, Jr., South Medford; Gerardo Herrera, Sr., North Medford; Andrew Phillips, Sr., South Medford.

Catcher — Mike Macuk, Sr., Crater.

Infield — Corey Wynant, Jr., Crater; Bryce Crawford, Sr., Crater; Jessie Hornbrook, Sr., North Medford; Casey Miller, Sr., Grants Pass.

FIRST BASE — Nathan Etheridge, Sr., Grants Pass.

Outfield — Micah Audiss, Sr., Roseburg; Darin Nelson, Jr., Roseburg; Anthony Cantiello, Sr., Grants Pass; Derek Cartwright, Sr., Crater.

Utility — Tyler Bennett, Jr., Grants Pass.

PITCHER OF THE YEAR — Jared Priestley, Roseburg.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Josh Graham, Roseburg.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Brian Diatte, Grants Pass.


Pitcher — Sean Pearson, Sr., South Medford; A.J. Doolittle, Sr., North Medford; Juan Cortez, Sr., Crater.

Catcher — Cory Pine, Sr., North Medford; Boog Leach, Jr., Roseburg.

Infield — Ryan Wellock, Sr., South Medford; Bryan Carbonell, Jr., North Medford; Conner Kahle, So., Roseburg.

First Base — Mike Morin, Jr., Roseburg.

Outfield — Pat Alexander, So., South Medford; Spencer Nordbeck, Sr., Grants Pass; Charlie Walker, Jr., North Medford; Andrew Tracy, Sr., Crater.

Utility — Austin Griffin, Sr., South Medford.


Infield — Kody Matthews, So., Roseburg; Taylor Raff, So., North Medford; Kirk Eastman, Jr., South Medford.

First Base — Sebastian Reynolds, Jr., Crater.

Outfield — Kanin Campbell, Sr., South Medford; Micah Brown, Fr., North Medford.

Share This Story