North Medford senior catcher Darren Bruhns was named to the all-Southwest Conference first team on Wednesday. - Roy Musitelli

North Medford captures spotlight in all-SWC voting

North Medford landed a high of five players on the all-Southwest Conference baseball first team released Wednesday, while Roseburg swept the top two honors yet again.

Senior catcher Darren Bruhns and senior outfielder Logan Odom each were named to the SWC first team a year after earning that same honor in the now defunct Southern Oregon Conference.

Also earning first-team nods for the top-ranked Black Tornado were junior pitcher Andrew Jones, junior shortstop Zack Earle and junior center fielder Jordan Bostwick.

"With the Sheldons and Roseburgs out there and the good players throughout the conference," said North Medford coach Brett Wolfe, "I felt very fortunate to have those kids get recognized in the league meeting. Since you don't vote on your own kids, it's an honor that comes from the other coaches and that makes it that much more meaningful."

North Medford and Sheldon tied for the inaugural SWC championship this season with 12-3 records, with Roseburg just one game behind at 11-4.

The Irish placed four players on the first team and joined North Medford with a league-high nine overall selections, while Roseburg second baseman John Tommasini was named player of the year, and the Indians' Troy Thompson was named coach of the year for the Indians.

"Tommasini certainly exemplified the type of player we had in the conference and is a good representation of the league," said Wolfe, noting that the senior hit .509 in SWC play. "He has been a very consistent player for (the Indians) and has been exceptional for them at second base."

Thompson earned the past two top coaching honors in the SOC, with current Oregon State pitcher Blake Keitzman garnering MVP acclaim for the SOC during that same span.

Bruhns was in the mix for the top honor in the SWC thanks to a .519 batting average and 22 runs in 15 league games. The senior leader also was pivotal in handling the Black Tornado's deep pitching staff and made teams think twice about trying to steal a base on him.

"He's really grown and matured as a first-team catcher this year," Wolfe said. "He's handled our pitchers with a lot of poise this year, and it's the first time in a long time that I can't hardly remember giving up a stolen base on a clean steal where the ball wasn't in the dirt or got away somehow."

Hitting out of the No. 2 hole behind Bruhns was Bostwick, who went 27-for-49 in league (.551) with 20 runs and 13 RBIs.

"You can't ask for much more than that in the No. 2 spot," said Wolfe. "And he's also really anchored us down with his play in center field."

Odom hit .314 in league with five home runs and a team-high 20 RBIs, while Earle hit .311 with 13 RBIs and committed only two errors at shortstop during SWC play.

"There's not a more powerful hitter than Logan in the league," said Wolfe. "With him at the plate, you always have a chance to get a run on the board."

"And Zack at shortstop as like having a fifth infielder because he really can cover a lot of ground," added the coach. "He's like two people in one spot."

Especially pleasing to Wolfe was Jones' selection to the first team as a pitcher. The junior right-hander went 5-0 with a 2.28 ERA in the SWC.

"I was excited because Andrew Jones got recognized, and there's some great pitchers in our league," said Wolfe. "Obviously I'm excited to have any of our kids on there, but he's put in a lot of work."

North Medford also placed two pitchers on the second team in senior right-hander Shea Bedortha (4-0, 2.84 ERA) and freshman left-hander Matt Maurer (3-2, 1.87 ERA). Senior third baseman Aaron Marlia was also a second-team selection.

South Medford, which finished fifth with a 4-11 league record, earned three second-team selections in senior center fielder Trent Smith (.474, 17 runs), junior first baseman Griff Boyd (.391, 13 RBIs) and junior infielder John Adamson (.306, 13 RBIs).

All-SWC Baseball


Player Pos. Team Yr.

Andrew Jones P North Medford Jr.

Chris Vitus P Sheldon Sr.

Alex Besaw P Sheldon Sr.

Darren Bruhns C North Medford Sr.

Buddy Saxon C Grants Pass Jr.

John Tommasini IF Roseburg Sr.

Shawn O'Brien IF Grants Pass Sr.

Boone Farrington IF Roseburg Jr.

Greg Wirtala IF Sheldon Sr.

Zack Earle IF North Medford Jr.

Craig Dolmage OF Grants Pass Sr.

Brandon Hayes OF Sheldon Sr.

Logan Odom OF North Medford Sr.

Jordan Bostwick OF North Medford Jr.

Scott Allred 1B Roseburg Sr.

Jordan Guthrie UT Roseburg So.

Jack Carpenter UT South Eugene Sr.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — John Tommasini, Roseburg.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Troy Thompson, Roseburg.


Player Pos. Team Yr.

Shea Bedortha P North Medford Sr.

Zach Morgan P Grants Pass Jr.

Justin Counts P Roseburg Sr.

Matt Maurer P North Medford Fr.

Wyatt Davis C Sheldon So.

Kyle Hansen C Roseburg Sr.

Aaron Marlia IF North Medford Sr.

Ben Higgins IF Sheldon So.

John Adamson IF South Medford Jr.

Brandon Drury IF Grants Pass Fr.

Trent Smith OF South Medford Sr.

Tyler Martell OF Sheldon Jr.

Sam Holman OF South Eugene Sr.

Peter Jaeger OF Sheldon Jr.

Griff Boyd 1B South Medford Jr.

Page Morgan UT Grants Pass Sr.


Dan O'Brien, P, South Eugene, Sr.; Hayden Wolfe, OF, North Medford, So.; Travis Rooke-Ley, OF, South Eugene, Jr.; Alex Woldt, 1B, South Eugene, Sr.; Zach Manley, UT, Sheldon, So.

Reach reporter Kris Henry at 776-4488, or e-mail

Share This Story