Medford players earn SOH accolades

North Medford junior Amanda Hisey was an easy selection for player of the year when it came to the all-Southern Oregon Hybrid voting by the conference's coaches recently, while South Medford's Humberto Alvarez and North Medford's Leo Alonzo split the vote and shared the boys honor.

Hisey amassed 25 goals through 15 games for the Black Tornado girls, surpassing the single-season record of 24 set by Lu Crenshaw, as North Medford earned the SOH title and advanced to the second round of the Class 6A state playoffs. Hisey scored at least one goal in all but two games this past season.

Hisey was joined on the first-team all-SOH list by North Medford teammates McKensie Ragan, Tori Foy and Kimmy Parker, with South Medford's Sarah Kapple, Megan Kapp and Lindsey Namanny also making the top list.

Roseburg's Adam Blue was named SOH girls coach of the year.

Alonzo provided a steadying influence to the North Medford boys team from his spot in the midfield, notching five goals and six assists to propel the Black Tornado to an undefeated regular season and SOH title. First-year head coach Michael Belzberg was named SOH boys coach of the year as North Medford finished 12-1-1.

Alvarez was a key playmaker for South Medford, scoring 10 goals and 11 assists in his first full season back after missing most of his junior season when he donated bone marrow to his younger brother Marco.

Also earning first-team all-SOH nods were North Medford's Joe Siordia, Jose Mendoza and Garrett Byrd and South Medford's Felipe Sanchez and Greg Rapet.

All-SOH Soccer


First Team

Joe Siordia, North Medford, GK, Sr.; Leo Alonzo, North Medford, M, Sr.; Jose Mendoza, North Medford, D, Sr.; Garrett Byrd, North Medford, M, Jr.; Humberto Alvarez, South Medford, M, Sr.; Felipe Sanchez, South Medford, F, Sr.; Greg Rapet, South Medford, M, Sr.; Casey Zottola, Grants Pass, D, Sr.; Brian Satterthwaite, Grants Pass, M, Sr.; Nicholas Kaminsky, Grants Pass, M, Sr.; Jacob Noland, Roseburg, M, Sr.

PLAYERS OF THE YEAR — Humberto Alvarez, South Medford, and Leo Alonzo, North Medford.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Michael Belzberg, North Medford.

Second Team

Omar Mendez, Crater, GK, Sr.; Benito Torres-Mata, North Medford, D, Jr.; Christian Siordia, North Medford, F, Jr.; Austin Schoenmann, North Medford, M, Jr.; Daniel Yates, Roeburg, D, Sr.; Brody Faas, Roseburg, M, Sr.; Trenton Anderson, Grants Pass, F, Jr.; Brian Luther, Grants Pass, M, Jr.; Greg Alegria, South Medford, F., Sr.; Uriel Cordoba, South Medford, M, So.; Caleb Wright, South Medford, D, Sr.; Jose Cabrera, South Medford, D, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Louis Michelon, North Medford, D, Jr.; Garrison Knowles, Roseburg, M, Sr.; Kyle Flagor, Roseburg, M, Jr.; Duncan Fuller, Grants Pass, D, Jr.; Moges Dinkins, Grants Pass, F, So.; Norberto Estrada, Crater, F, Jr.; Cyrus Irigoyen, Crater, M, So.


First Team

Amanda Hisey, North Medford, F, Jr.; McKensie Ragan, North Medford, D, Jr.; Tori Foy, North Medford, D, So.; Kimmy Parker, North Medford, M, Sr.; Chelsey Luiz, Roseburg, D, Jr.; Tristen Gilbert, Roseburg, F, Sr.; Raechel Warren, Roseburg, D, Jr.; Sarah Kapple, South Medford, M, Sr.; Megan Kapp, South Medford, M/F, Sr.; Jessi Witherington, Grants Pass, D, So.; Brooke Blacksmith, Grants Pass, F, So.; Lindsey Namanny, South Medford, GK, Sr.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Amanda Hisey, North Medford.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Adam Blue, Roseburg.

Second Team

Anna Smith, North Medford, D, Jr.; Hayley Petersen, North Medford, M, Sr.; Sydney Thomas, North Medford, M, So.; Mahala Norris, Roseburg, M/F, Fr.; Emily Roy, Roseburg, M, So.; Brighton Hebisen, Roseburg, M, Jr.; Brittany Jensen, South Medford, M/F, So.; Larissa Lakin, South Medford, D, So.; Desiree Lakin, South Medford, D, So.; Maci Jokumsen, Grants Pass, F, So.; Mariessa Robles, Roseburg, GK, Jr.

Honorable Mention

Bailey O'Connor, North Medford, GK, So.; Shan Lansing, Grants Pass, M, Sr.; Shelby DeRocher, Grants Pass, D, Jr.; Jaime Dirksen, Crater, M, Jr.; Abby Gray, Crater, D, Fr.; Jordan Hevern, Crater, M, Sr.; Katie Niedermeyr, Crater, D, Fr.

Share This Story