Maurer named SWC pitcher of year

Matt Maurer wasn't entirely pleased with his performance on the mound last year for the North Medford baseball team and vowed to ramp things up for his senior campaign.

While his numbers in 2009 — an 8-2 record and 1.30 ERA — aren't exactly things to scoff at, that's exactly the kind of mentality that led Maurer to being named the Southwest Conference's pitcher of the year in recent voting by the coaches.

The senior left-hander capped the regular season with an 8-0 record and 0.97 ERA, sporting 80 strikeouts in 502/3 innings for the Black Tornado.

In the Class 6A state playoffs last Friday, Maurer allowed one hit with 11 strikeouts in six innings of a 10-0 win over Grant.

"Matt's been able to keep opponents from scoring and keep them off base and allow us time to get in rhythm offensively," said North Medford head coach Brett Wolfe, "and things really take off when we get on the board for him."

Maurer's selection was one of five first-team nods for the Black Tornado. Seniors Bradey Shipley (pitcher), Colin Sowers (catcher) and Cody James (first base) joined Maurer as repeat members of the first team, with senior Seth Brown also earning first-team acclaim as an outfielder.

Shipley capped the regular season with a 7-1 record and 1.35 ERA, striking out 76 in 62 innings with eight complete games. In his first season at the 6A level, Brown paced North with 35 RBIs and a .444 batting average, while Sowers hit .438 with 36 runs in the leadoff spot and James batted .432 with 32 RBIs.

Also making repeat appearances on the first team were Brandon Jackson (pitcher), John Farrington (infield) and Mitch Huff (outfield) of Roseburg and Grants Pass' Brandon Drury (infield) and Brock Dean (outfield).

The shortstop Farrington was named SWC player of the year after leading the Indians to the conference title, while Troy Thompson of the Indians was named coach of the year by his peers.

South Medford placed six on the all-SWC second team: Andrew Phillips (pitcher), Nate Namanny (first base), Dylan Albertson (infield), Josh Havird (infield), Allen Fitzsimmons (catcher) and Kyle Seutter (utility).

Phillips was 4-3 with a 3.12 ERA during the regular season primarily in a relief role, while Seutter led the team with a .333 batting average and Albertson hit .308 with a team-best 16 RBIs. Namanny (.278), Havird (.275) and Fitzsimmons (.238) provided key contributions in leading South to a third-place finish in the SWC.

North Medford pitcher Michael Bradshaw (6-1, 2.98 ERA), third baseman Michael Paxton (.269) and left fielder Shaun Whitehead (.313) were also second-team selections.

All-SWC Baseball


P — Matt Maurer, North Medford Sr.

P — Bradey Shipley, North Medford Sr.

P — Brandon Jackson, Roseburg Sr.

P — Josh Graham, Roseburg So.

1B — Cody James, North Medford Sr.

IF — John Farrington, Roseburg Sr.

IF — Brandon Drury, Grants Pass Sr.

IF — Derek Priestley, Roseburg Sr.

IF — Jay Tovey, Roseburg Sr.

IF — Casey Miller, Grants Pass Jr.

OF — Brock Dean, Grants Pass Sr.

OF — Mitch Huff, Roseburg Sr.

OF — Seth Brown, North Medford Sr.

OF — Cameron Newell, Roseburg Sr.

C — Vince Ampi, Roseburg Sr.

C — Colin Sowers, North Medford Sr.

UT — Tyler Spencer, Grants Pass Sr.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — John Farrington, Roseburg.

PITCHER OF THE YEAR — Matt Maurer, North Medford.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Troy Thompson, Roseburg.


P — Zach Kayser, Sheldon Sr.

P — Michael Bradshaw, North Medford Sr.

P — Andrew Phillips, South Medford Jr.

1B — Nate Namanny, South Medford So.

IF — Michael Paxton, North Medford Sr.

IF — Garrett Horning, Sheldon Sr.

IF — Dylan Albertson, South Medford Sr.

IF — Joe Schindler, South Eugene Fr.

IF — Josh Havird, South Medford Jr.

OF — Micah Audiss, Roseburg Jr.

OF — Shaun Whitehead, North Medford Sr.

OF — Ryan Land, Sheldon So.

OF — Gus Craig, South Eugene Jr.

C — Allen Fitzsimmons, South Medford Sr.

UT — Kyle Seutter, South Medford Sr.


Carlos Larson, P, South Eugene, Jr.; Cason Cunningham, 1B, Sheldon, Jr.; Brandon Dollarhide, OF, South Medford, Sr.; Cory Haggans, OF, North Medford, Sr.; Jory Christiansen, OF, South Eugene, Sr.

Reach reporter Kris Henry at 541-776-4488, or e-mail

Share This Story