Hodnett earns all-state honors

Hodnett earns all-state honors

Whitney Hodnett has done a little bit of everything during her four years starting for the North Medford volleyball team.

There was one thing, however, the senior outside hitter had yet to do, and she took care of that Wednesday when it was announced Hodnett had earned first-team all-state Class 6A volleyball honors.

The 5-foot-11 Hodnett was joined on the all-state list by senior right side Erica Schultz, an honorable mention pick, and coach Ron Beick, who was named coach of the year after guiding the Black Tornado to a state runner-up finish.

"It's quite an honor," said Beick of his award. "Especially when it comes from statewide voting from the coaches.

"There are a lot of strong programs and I thought this year we had a great group of girls."

Jesuit's Erin Kilroy was named 6A player of the year, as the Crusaders had a state-high four all-state competitors.

At the 5A level, Ashland setter Heidi Siebenlist was named to the second team, while teammates Sammi Gilbert (senior outside) and Asia Kane (junior outside) were honorable mention selections.

Krissi Kemper of Crook County was tabbed player of the year and Rosie Honl, also of Crook County, was named coach of the year.

Hidden Valley's Megan Swanson was a first-team all-state pick in Class 4A, while La Grande swept top honors with Josi Lyman earning player-of-the-year honors and Teresa Dowdy taking home the coach of the year award.

Hodnett led North Medford with 240 kills and 269 digs. She was also the primary serve receiver in an upset victory of then top-ranked Jesuit in the quarterfinals of the state tournament.

Schultz contributed 191 kills, 223 digs, 56 blocks and ranked first on the team with 42 service aces.

Hodnett, the Southwest Conference player of the year after leading North to an unbeaten conference record, played primarily back row in the state tournament after suffering a severe ankle sprain prior to the eight-team event.

"Each year Whitney improved," said Beick. "This final year on the court and off when she was injured exemplified what a team captain should be. Statistically she contributed a lot this year and she handled the adversity (of the injury) well.

"It's going to be tough to lose those two next year."

Reach reporter Kevin Goff at 776-4483, or e-mail

Class 6A


School Yr. Pos.

Whitney Hodnett N. Medford Sr. OH

Erin Kilroy Jesuit Sr. AA

Kyley Sexton West Salem Sr. OS

Lauren DeGrandmont C. Catholic Sr. L

Alyssa O'Neil West Linn Jr. OH

Amiee Frutchey Gresham Sr. MH

Garyn Schlatter Canby Jr. AA

Player of the year — Erin Kilroy, Jesuit.

Coach of the year — Ron Beick, North Medford.


Grace Haessler Lincoln Sr. S

Kelsie Moore Oregon City Sr. OH

Kellie Kawaski West Linn Jr. L

Cindy Chen Southridge Sr. OH

Lily Wygal C. Catholic Jr. MH

Allix Strahon Sheldon Sr. S

Hannah Bell Canby Jr. AA

HONORABLE MENTION — Ellie Trebelhorn, Central Catholic, sr., OH; Elizabeth Dick, Jesuit, sr., OH; Erica Schultz, North Medford, sr., RS; Kameron Boggan, Benson, jr., MB; Justine Rho, Lincoln, sr., DS; Sabrina Nelson, Benson, sr., MB; Jessica Nguyen, Southridge, jr., L; Mary Claire Brenner, Jesuit, sr., MB; Christa Grauert, Jesuit, sr., L; Kyra Speer, Gresham, sr., OH; Michelle Hurt, West Linn, sr., MB.

Class 5A


School Yr. Pos.

Jessica Lea Crook County Sr. OH

Kate Bostwick Pendleton Jr. OH

Abby Chambers West Albany Sr. S

Ariel Usher Glencoe Jr. AA

Melanie Ceciliani Crook County Sr. OH

Kelsey Zimmerman Summit So. MH

Esmeraldo Orozco Crook County Sr. S

Player of the year — Jessica Lea, Crook County.

Coach of the year — Rosie Honl, Crook County.


Krissi Kemper Crook County Jr. MB

Ali Worthen Marshfield Sr. OH

Heidi Siebenlist Ashland Sr. S

Eliza Pledger Wilsonville Sr. MB

Tara Hill Thurston Sr. OH

Shayna Severance Crook County Sr. L

Macy Markham Summit Sr. L

HONORABLE MENTION — Courtney Radekin, North Eugene, sr., MB; Kylie Brunger, Cleveland, sr., AA; Sammi Gilbert, Ashland, sr., OH; Asia Kane, Ashland, jr., OH; Natalie Scheller, Bend, jr., OH; Michelle Coombs, Hermiston, sr., MB; Laura Hanson, Wilsonville, jr., H; Taylor Hughes, Wilsonville, sr., L.

Class 4A

School Yr. Pos.

Rachel Swanson Central Jr. OH

Shikara White Estacada Sr. MH

Josi Lyman LaGrande Sr. S

Braidy Bates Pleasant Hill Sr. MB

Sophie DeWitt Astoria Sr. OH

Megan Swanson Hidden Valley Sr. S/RH

Stephanie Kerr Brookings Sr. MB

Player of the year — Josi Lyman, La Grande.

Coach of the year — Teresa Dowdy, La Grande


Brittany Barstad Estacada Sr. MH

Kali Ulmer Sisters Sr. OH

Sam Stoneback Sisters Sr. S

Sierra Patzke Henley Sr. S

Kara Gerst La Grande Sr. S

Laura Siltanen La Grande Sr. OH

Brook Goins Sisters Sr. L

Leigh Anne MacCarthy Central Jr. S

HONORABLE MENTION — Jessie Martin, Tillamook, sr., S; Briana Claassen, Stayton, sr., S; Katie King, Douglas, sr., OH; Tara Talbott, Baker, jr., OH; JoHanna Pettey, La Grande, jr., OH; Christine Bansen, Central, jr., OH; Haylee Schaab, Sisters, so., OH.

Share This Story