Grizzlies garner MWL honors

Ashland High senior Declan Hinkley shared the Midwestern League’s player-of-the-year award with Marist’s Jose Cardenas, and Ashland’s co-head coaches, Abdi Guled and Brad Roupp, were named the MWL’s coaches of the year, the league recently announced.

Ashland’s girls team earned its share of MWL honors, as well: Mya Elder-Hammond, Tia Wilhelm and goalie Taylor Buckley were first-team selections and Eric Wolff was named a co-coach of the year.

Ashland’s boys team dominated the league, winning its seven games by a combined score of 36-4. Hinkley, a senior center back who led a Grizzlies defense that allowed 14 goals this season while advancing to the Class 5A state playoffs, was a major reason why, but he had plenty of help, too, as teammates Ian Rinefort, Jahnoi Hall, Jade Boucher and Ben Lucero — all seniors — also earned first-team honors.

On the girls’ side, North Eugene senior Jordan Wormdahl was named the league’s player of the year, while North Eugene’s Brandy Wormdahl shared co-coach of the year honors with Wolff.

The MWL all-star team is voted on by the league’s coaches.

All-MWL Soccer


PLAYERS OF THE YEAR: Declan Hinkley, sr., Ashland; Jose Cardenas, sr., Marist.

COACHES OF THE YEAR: Abdi Guled, Brad Roupp, Ashland co-head coaches.

First Team

Ian Rinefort, sr., Ashland; Declan Hinkley, sr., Ashland; Jahnoi Hall, sr., Ashland; Jade Boucher, sr., Ashland; Ben Lucero, sr., Ashland; Ben Camp, sr., Churchill; Harper Neubeck, so., Churchill; Jose Cardenas, sr., Marist; Ben Hakala, sr., Marist; Jack Ferguson, sr., North Eugene; Brandon Canchola, jr., Thurston; Josiah Sugai, jr., Thurston; Jackson Chalmers, sr., North Eugene; Connor Fitzpatrick, sr., Marist.

Second Team

Jaxon Witters, sr., Ashland; Leo Duetz, sr., Ashland; Scott Gustafson, so., Ashland; Eric Fox, jr., Churchill; Ben Cranston, sr., Crater; Keaton Cunningham, sr., Marist; Joey Weilbrenner, sr., Marist; Joel Garcia, jr., Marist; Paul Vargas, sr., North Eugene; Kaleb Davis, sr., Springfield; Jason Garcia, jr., Thurston; Alejandro Rodriguez-Arias, sr., Thurston.

Honorable Mention

Joseph Holden, sr., Ashland; Sam Inada, sr., Ashland; Alex Karol, so., Churchill; Isaias Monjaras, so., Churchill; Jose Luis Benavides, jr., Churchill; Jayden Budrow, so., Eagle Point; Martin Hernandez, so., Eagle Point; Elvis Cisneros, fr., Eagle Point; Joey Braud, so., Marist; Peter Hart, sr., Marist; Grant Froehlich, sr., North Eugnee; Oscar Sigala, sr., Springfield; Matthew Dyemartin, so., Thurston; Caleb Pruitt, sr., Thurston; Tonathiu Corona-Garcia, sr., Thurston; Nick Clendenen, so., Churchill.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jordan Mormdahl, sr., North Eugene.

COACHES OF THE YEAR: Eric Wolff, Ashland; Brandy Wormdahl, North Eugene.

First Team

Mya Elder-Hammond, sr., Ashland; Tia Wilhelm, sr., Ashland; Taylor Buckley, sr., Ashland; Emmi Freeman, so., Churchill; Maddie Young, jr., Churchill; Megan Kimball, sr., Marist; Jordan Wormdahl, sr., North Eugene; Kara Ryker, sr., North Eugene; Brittany Smith, sr., North Eugene; Tiffany Hilkey, sr., Thurston.

Second Team

Ginny Cotton, sr., Ashland; Hannah Haptonstall, sr., Ashland; Katie Simon, jr., Churchill; McKenna Gugliotta, jr., Crater; Stephanie Roe, sr., Eagle Point; Annie McNeil, sr., Marist; Hannah Brandt, sr., North Eugene; Cassie Ericson, sr., North Eugene; Neviah Lee, so., Springfield; Payten Blilie, so., Thurston; Ashley Hayes, sr., Thurston; Audrey Ahlstrom, so., North Eugene.

Honorable Mention

Mary Wilson, so., Ashland; Haley Sherrill, fr., Churchill; Izabella Martinez, fr., Crater; Ana Lopez-Ramirez, jr., Eagle Point; Kyndsi Sundberg, sr., Marist; Sarah Hayes, jr., Marist; Sophie Cleland, so., North Eugene; Lauren Martines, jr., North Eugene; Kamryn Manley, jr., North Eugene; Gloria Alverez-Sanders, jr., Springfield; Alyssa Brund, sr., Churchill.

Share This Story