Flenner selected top Skyline coach

Skyline Conference boys soccer champion Phoenix placed four players on the all-league first team and the Pirates' Dennis Flenner was chosen coach of the year in a recent ballot by the conference coaches.

Flenner has led Phoenix to 11 conference titles in 19 years as coach.

Phoenix players on the first team are right-winger Alex Vela, center-midfielder Eli Espana, midfielder Jose Mendez — the Pirates leading scorer with 10 goals — and striker Jonny Esqueda. All are seniors.

Esqueda was the Skyline player of the year as a junior but a knee injury caused him to miss some conference games this season.

Pirates' senior goalie Hector Rocha made the second team.

High-scoring striker Jacob Carpenter of league runner-up Henley was selected as player of the year.

The Hornets also had four first-teamers, including senior goalkeeper James Goheen.

All Skyline Conference


Jacob Carpenter, Henley Sr.

Alex Vela, Phoenix Sr.

Eli Espana, Phoenix Sr.

Trinidad Flores, North Valley Jr.

Omar Valadez, Mazama Sr.

Edgar Baza, Henley Sr.

Thomas Fate, Hidden Valley Sr.

Jose Mendez, Phoenix Sr.

Jonny Esqueda, Phoenix Sr.

Jaime Aguayo, Henley Sr.

James Goheen, Henley Sr.

Player of the Year — Jacob Carpenter, Henley

Coach of the Year — Dennis Flenner, Phoenix


Jacob Mangan, Henley Jr.

Heitor Almeida, North Valley Jr.

Jose Meza, Klamath Union Sr.

Ezequiel Flores, Phoenix Sr.

Mason Crawford, Klamath Union Jr.

Brett Goddard, Hidden Valley Sr.

Brandon Rodgers, North Valley Jr.

Tjark Anders, North Valley Jr.

Christian Ramirez, Henley Jr.

Guadalupe Flores, Phoenix Sr.

Hector Rocha, Phoenix Sr.


Jorge Pinon, Phoenix, jr.; Lake Petersen, Henley, soph.; Isaac Hannah, North Valley, soph.; Abraham Martinez, Hidden Valley, jr.; Nick Bachetti, Klamath Union, jr.; Kevin Truett, Mazama, sr.; Ryan Clarkin, North Valley, sr.

Share This Story