Delaney, Edgar gain top player nods in SOH

Seniors Jack Delaney of South Medford and Annie Edgar of Grants Pass earned the top spots in all-conference voting recently by the Southern Oregon Hybrid basketball coaches, marking the first such honor for both players.

Delaney, a 6-foot-2 post, led the SOH champion South Medford boys with 13.4 points and 5.3 rebounds per game during a conference season that saw the Panthers go 11-1. Delaney played sparingly at the varsity level as a junior but embraced a leadership role his senior year that included key responsibilities on both sides of the floor.

"He was just rock-solid all year from the beginning to the end," said South Medford's Dennis Murphy, who was named SOH coach of the year. "He just plays with a very unnoticed presence but who ended up guarding the other team's best post player most of the time, Jack Delaney, and who was our leading scorer, Jack Delaney. It's just a great credit to him for his willingness to do whatever he can do all the time."

South Medford teammate Matt Retzlaff joined Delaney on the all-SOH boys first team, along with North Medford seniors Chris Faust and Derek Mautz, Grants Pass senior Tony Scriven and Eagle Point senior Tyrone Holmes.

Retzlaff, a senior point guard, averaged 12.4 points, 3.9 assists, 3.3 rebounds and 2.3 steals for the Panthers in 12 SOH games, while Scriven was the conference's leading scorer at 14.2 points per game.

Faust averaged 10.5 points and 6.5 rebounds in the regular season, while Mautz was second in SOH scoring at 13.8 points per conference game and 15 points per game overall. Mautz also added 2.4 assists, 2.3 rebounds and 3.1 steals per game for the SOH runner-up Black Tornado in the regular season.

Holmes averaged 17.5 points and 9.2 rebounds for the Class 5A Eagles, who played each of the 6A SOH teams once during the regular season but are included with Ashland in the hybrid voting.

In the SOH girls voting by the conference's coaches, Edgar was selected player of the year after averaging 16.9 points nearly 12 rebounds per game this season for the third-place Cavers, who were 5-7 in SOH play. A 5-11 senior post, Edgar also averaged two steals per game, shot 61 percent from the field and led her team with 11 charges taken.

"I'm not taking anything away from the other girls but Annie is definitely our mainstay," said GP head coach Scott Wakefield. "She was the girl that you knew what you'd get night-in and night-out. She was the heart and soul of our team, the rock. She only had a few games that weren't double-doubles."

SOH champion South Medford, which went undefeated in 12 league games for the second straight year, placed junior guards Yaremi Mejia and Kylie Towry on the first team with Crater seniors Kasidy Cobb and Kelly Ferris and North Medford junior McKensey Peters.

Mejia averaged 11.8 points in SOH play and 10.2 overall and contributed seven assists, five rebounds and four steals per game. Also for the top-ranked Panthers, Towry led the conference in overall scoring at 18.7 points per game — 16.8 in SOH play — and added four assists, four rebounds and three steals per game.

For the runner-up Comets, who went 8-4 in league play, Cobb averaged 9.4 points in league play and 12.5 overall to go with 2.5 assists, 1.9 steals and 1.8 rebounds. Ferris, who shot 54 percent from the field, averaged 11.8 points in SOH play and 11.5 overall and added 7.4 rebounds and 1.2 assists per game.

Peters led North Medford with 13.8 points per game in SOH play, which was good for third behind Edgar and Towry. Overall, Peters averaged 12 points per game for the Black Tornado, which was fourth in the SOH at 3-9.

South Medford's Tom Cole was named SOH coach of the year.

All-SOH Basketball


First Team

Jack Delaney, Sr., South Medford; Chris Faust, Sr., North Medford; Tyrone Holmes, Sr., Eagle Point; Tony Scriven, Sr., Grants Pass; Matt Retzlaff, Sr., South Medford; Derek Mautz, Sr., North Medford.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Jack Delaney, Sr., South Medford.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Dennis Murphy, South Medford.

Second Team

Jordan Browne-Moore, Sr., North Medford; Jack Singler, Sr., South Medford; Cody Dismukes, Jr., Crater; Jonathan Bolston, Sr., Eagle Point; Billy Hansen, Sr., Ashland.

Honorable Mention

Kai Seely, Jr., Roseburg; Justin Martin, Sr., Crater; Trey Garfas, Sr., North Medford; Zack Reed, Sr., Eagle Point.


First Team

Annie Edgar, Sr., Grants Pass; Yaremi Mejia, Jr., South Medford; Kasidy Cobb, Sr., Crater; Kylie Towry, Jr., South Medford; Kelly Ferris, Sr., Crater; McKensey Peters, Jr., North Medford.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Annie Edgar, Sr., Grants Pass.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Tom Cole, South Medford.

Second Team

Andee Ritter, Fr., South Medford; Ashley Bolston, So., South Medford; Shelby Snook, Jr., Roseburg; Beth McNichols, Sr., Crater; Tess Picknell, Sr., South Medford.

Honorable Mention

Joci Ellis, So., North Medford; Alexa Phillips, So., Grants Pass; Fiona Johnson, So., Roseburg; Allison Shulenberger, Sr., Ashland; Mikayla Murphy, Sr., North Medford; Brittaney Scott, Jr., Crater; Luisa Tago, Jr., South Medford.

Reach reporter Kris Henry at 541-776-4488,, or

Share This Story