Crusaders have four on all-District 3 first team

St. Mary's prolific scoring duo of Lou Arne and Keenan Grant and two other Crusader teammates were selected to the all-District 3 boys soccer first team.

Joining juniors Arne and Grant on the first team were senior sweeper Jeremy Kotler and senior goalkeeper Michael Brimble.

Arne and Grant, who played both midfield and forward, each had a team-high 19 goals during the regular season and Arne added two goals in the playoffs for the district champion Crusaders (12-4), who advanced to the quarterfinal round in the Class 3A/2A/1A state playoffs.

"They could play anywhere," said St. Mary's coach Paul Coughlin about Arne and Grant. "They have great athleticism, heart and ball control. Lou was particularly good penetrating the box, while Keenan is very powerful on the ball."

Coughlin described Kotler as a spirited player who came into his own this season. Brimble, in just his third year playing soccer, was the dominant keeper in the league.

Michael Graham of Umpqua Valley Christian was selected as player of the year, while the coach of the year award was shared by George Graham of Umpqua Valley Christian and Steve Callaway of Glide.


Michael Graham, Umpqua Valley Christian; Julio Olvera, Creswell; Alex Mikue, Canyonville Christian Academy; Lou Arne, St. Mary's; Tavin Morgan, Glide; Colton Claughton, Umpqua Valley Christian; Keenan Grant, St. Mary's; Miles Bernadette - Peters, Gold Beach; Jeremy Kotler, St. Mary's; Juan Ayla, Creswell; Josiah Brown, Glide; Michael Brimble, GK, St. Mary's.


Joshua Sandrali, Canyonville Christian Academy; Dilshod Madiev, Canyonville Christian Academy; Rigo Jimenez, Creswell; Paco Rodriguez, Creswell; Tyler Main, Creswell; Jesse Hopkins, Glide; Justin Brown, Rogue River; Tony Vaccher, Rogue River; Mitchell Graham, Umpqua Valley Christian; Tyler Smith, Umpqua Valley Christian; Peter Benton, Umpqua Valley Christian; Bay Gross, St. Mary's; Tyler Donahue, GK, Rogue River.


Hyun-il Yoo, Canyonville Christian Academy; Artur Zubets, Canyonville Christian Academy; Rowdy Spoel, Creswell; Jose Garibay, Creswell; Andrew Sanders, Creswell; Keith Krogel, Glide; Jose Rose, Glide; Dylan Nagel, Rogue River; Shaq Poston, Rogue River; Jason Daly, Rogue River; A.J. Leep, St. Mary's; Mark Raneile, St. Mary's; Harrison Leep, St. Mary's; Jacob Brint, Umpqua Valley Christian.

Share This Story