1004041404 BaseballPre1.JPG
Andy Atkinson \ Mail TribuneCrater's Larson Kindreich delivers in the 7th inning against Bend.

Crater baseball lands three on MWL first team

The Crater Comets — playing in Saturday’s Class 5A state baseball championship game — had three players selected to the all-Midwestern League first team.

Pitcher Larson Kindreich, shortstop Nick Bastendorff and third baseman Trae Frodge were all honored as first teamers by a vote of league coaches.

Kindreich, a senior left-hander, posted an 8-2 record with a 0.78 earned run average. The 6-foot-3, 200-pounder had 140 strikeouts in 62 2/3 innings. Kindreich posted five no-hitters on the season.

Frodge, a senior, batted .481 with 29 runs, 36 RBIs and five home runs. Bastendorff, also a senior, had a .417 regular season batting average with 31 runs and 23 RBIs.

Crater players selected to the second team are sophomore pitcher Jacob Memmott, sophomore second baseman Trever Davis and junior outfielder Blake Hollingsworth.

Skylar Gaudern, an Eagle Point sophomore, was picked as a second-team pitcher and Eagles senior pitcher Dylan Marsh was given an honorable mention nod.

Ashland sophomore infielder Nick Buccino was an honorable mention selection.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Preston Fisher, Sr., Thurston

PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Cole Wilkinson Sr., Churchill

COACH OF THE YEAR: Dennis Minium, Thurston

First Team

PITCHER: Cole Wilkinson, Sr., Churchill; Larson Kindreich, Sr., Crater; Andrew Ward, Sr., Thurston.

CATCHER: Cade Christ, So., Thurston.

FIRST BASE: Trevor Groves, Sr., Churchill

INFIELD: Trae Frodge, Sr., Crater; Nick Bastendorff, Sr., Crater; Chase Elliott, Sr., Thurston.

OUTFIELD: Preston Fisher, Sr., Thurston; Noah Francis, Sr., Thurston; Kyle Lund, Sr., Churchill.

UTILITY: Trevor Duran, Sr., Thurston.

Second Team

PITCHER: Jacob Memott, So., Crater; Skylar Gauden, So., Eagle Point; Micah Burke, Sr., Thurston.

CATCHER: Connor Jones, Jr., Churchill

FIRST BASE: Decker Stedman, Jr., Churchill.

INFIELD: Trever Davis, So., Crater; Kellar Edwards, Sr., Churchill; JJ Anderson, So., Marist.

OUTFIELD: Dylan Parsons, Sr., Marist; Jaren Sargeant, Sr., Thurston; Blake Hollingsworth, Jr., Crater

UTILITY: Jace Krier, Sr., Marist.

Golden Glove Award

PITCHER: Cole Wilkinson, Sr., Churchill

CATCHER: Cade Crist, So., Thurston; Connor Jones, So., Churchill

INFIELD: Trae Frodge, Sr., Crater; Carson Werder, Sr., Thurston; Jake Riley, So., Thurston; Kellar Edwards, Sr., Churchill.

OUTFIELD: Preston Fisher, Sr., Thurston; Jaren Sargeant, Sr., Thurston; Jace Krier, Sr., Marist; Ryan Kulpa, Sr., Crater.

Honorable Mention

Beau Burnett, Jr., Churchill; Huner Bloom, Sr., Marist; Grant Froehlich, Sr., North Eugene; Dylan Marsh, Sr., Eagle Point; Sonny Hiday, Sr., Marist; Gehrig Wicks, Sr., North Eugene; Drew Williams, Jr., North Eugene; CJ Townsend, Jr., Churchill; Nick Buccino, So., Ashland; Jake O’Grady, Sr., Springfield; Cameron Parks, So., North Eugene.

Share This Story