Comets take command at MWL district

EAGLE POINT — Crater built a commanding lead at the Midwestern League district championships after advancing 22 wrestlers into today’s semifinals with an impressive first-day showing at Eagle Point High on Friday.

The Comets amassed 225.5 points to take a sizable lead into today’s final rounds over second-place Thurston (157). Eagle Point stands third with 84 points with Ashland fourth at 74.

Action resumes with semifinals at 10 a.m. this morning. The championship finals are projected to begin at 2 p.m. in Eagle Point.

“Overall it was a smooth first day and what was predicted,” said Eagle Point head coach Kacey McNulty. “There weren’t any big upsets that I saw. If you’re a Crater fan then things are rolling along pretty good with them already over 200 points after Day 1 with a full lineup.”

The Eagles advanced eight wrestlers into today’s semifinals, while Ashland has four within one victory of the championship finals.

The top four finishers advance to the Class 5A state tournament set Feb. 24-25 at Portland’s Memorial Coliseum.

MWL District Championships

TEAM SCORES: Crater 225.5, Thurston 157, Eagle Point 84, Ashland 74, Churchill 67, North Eugene 62, Springfield 55.


106 — Zeth Brower, Cra, pinned Dylan Averill, Thu, 1:42; Trigger Weyers, EP, pinned Juan Ramirez, Spr, 1:01; Gavin Sherrill, Thu, bye; Angel Diaz, Cra, pinned Freddy Barajas, EP, 5:22.

113 — Hunter Grant, Cra, pinned Ainsley Afelin, Chu, :21; Jeremy Smith, Spr, dec. Ishmael Blas, NE, 9-2; Thomas Zomerdyk, EP, dec. Zane Stewart, Thu, 10-4; Tanner Ulrey, Cra, pinned Alexus Misick-Besio, Chu, 4:32.

120 — Hunter Hiatt, Cra, pinned Danny Patterson, EP, :22; Joshua Sitowski, Chu, pinned Niccolo Cellini, Ash, 3:10; Bruce Cwiklinski, Cra, pinned Joseph Wolf, Chu, :28; Chance McMullen, EP, bye.

126 — Scotty Morgan, Thu, pinned Isaac McCallister, Spr, 3:30; Alec Nolan, NE, pinned Mason Johnson, Chu, 5:39; Jerrod Reichert, Ash, won by forfeit; Isaiah Griffith, Cra, pinned Calvin Royce, Thu, 2:58.

132 — Dallas Howard, Cra, pinned Rosemary Weston, Ash, 1:00; Shane Teigen, Thu, pinned Kolby Bearden, NE, 3:30; Josh Sitzer, EP, pinned Brooks Jake, Chu, 1:00; Seth Morales, Thu, pinned Jeremiah Berry, Cra, 1:16.

138 — Bryce Cwiklinski, Cra, pinned Cody Schultz, Ash, :44; Evan Powell, Chu, pinned Breckon Lott, Thu, 1:08; Nathan Santoni, Cra, pinned Ben King, Spr, 1:41; Brian De La Cruz, EP, pinned Ron Brown, Chu, 2:10.

145 — Logan Meek, Cra, pinned Desmond Duane, Spr, 1:07; Anthony Tena, Chu, dec. Noah Sitzer, EP, 8-4; Kevin Poston, NE, major dec. Ayden Beck, Cra, 16-7; Austin Watson, Thu, pinned Tyler Larson, Ash, 1:56.

152 — Jace Godley, Cra, pinned Cameron Shaw, Thu, :14; Alan Leon, Chu, major dec. Nicholas Karr, Spr, 17-8; Brady Bigbee, Thu, pinned Nick Wells, Chu, 1:45; Jeremiah Sherrynewby, Ash, pinned Trever Davis, Cra, 3:23.

160 — Kaleb Roach, Thu, dec. Kyle Hendrix, NE, 6-2; Cameron Savage, Cra, pinned Akaynen Dalton, Spr, 1:33; Tanner Lee, Cra, won by forfeit; Joseph Michelson, Spr, pinned Coby Wedmore, Thu, 3:36.

170 — Cedar Barnes, Ash, pinned Jacob Richardson, Spr, 1:30; Logan Lowder, Cra, pinned Jack Johnson, Thu, 1:07; Lane Lambert, EP, pinned Isaac Barrager, Spr, :38; Markus Bennett, Cra, bye.

182 — Zach Adler, Ash, injury default over Logan Dempsey, Thu; Leonardo Gutierrez, Cra, pinned Alexander Birkby, Spr, 3:25; Jett Vandersommer, Thu, pinned Caleb Ostmo, Ash, 1:58; Tony Flores, Cra, pinned Dyllan Kirsch, Spr, :44.

195 — Avery Jaramillo, Thu, pinned Jade Boucher, Ash, :54; Jacob Hukill, EP, dec. Caleb Lawrence, Cra, 6-2; Brayden Rogers, Spr, pinned Isaiah Sefo, NE, 4:28; Wally Pendleton, Cra, tech. fall Jacob Mason, Thu, 19-2 (4:00).

220 — Beau Crawford, Cra, pinned Hayden Fausett, Chu, 1:23; Logan Gambill, NE, bye; Jackson Casteel, Thu, pinned Daniel Flores, Cra, 1:37; Taylor Lawler, EP, bye.

285 — Javon Gill, Cra, pinned Trevor Culp, Thu, :43; Tyler Kinney, NE, pinned Cole Woodke, Chu, 5:28; Cameron Sweet, Cra, pinned Logan Marks, Thu, :57; Cade Wolford, Spr, pinned Raymond Wood, Chu, 1:04.

2A/1A SPECIAL DISTRICT 3 PRE-DISTRICT: At Culver, Billie Tucker placed first at 285 pounds to lead the charge for Butte Falls/Prospect, which finished sixth overall at the 10-school event at Culver High.

Tucker received byes into the championship finals before scoring a pin on Central Linn’s Justin Malone at 2 minutes, 18 seconds.

Ryan Cicero placed fourth at 152 after suffering pins in the semifinals and third-place finals, while Jonathan Gagnon (145) won his fifth-place final with a pin in 1:52 over Keith Swan of North Lake and Tyler Haskell advanced to the semifinals at 170 but suffered two falls before having to forfeit the fifth-place final to place sixth.

TEAM SCORES: Culver 337.5, Central Linn 114, Oakridge 80, Santiam 77, Glendale 54, Butte Falls/Prospect 43, Bonanza 40, Gilchrist 38.5, North Lake 33, Chiloquin 9.

Share This Story