Comets sweep up all-Southern Sky Conference honors

To the victors go the spoils, and the third-ranked Crater Comets couldn't have been more spoiled recently by their fellow Southern Sky Conference baseball programs.

The Comets earned a remarkable eight of the 12 first-team selections to the all-Southern Sky Conference squad in voting released Wednesday. The SSC champions had 11 players recognized overall.

"That was pretty amazing," said Crater senior Josh Surgeon. "I couldn't believe that we landed all those guys on the first team. I don't think I've ever seen one team dominate first-team all-conference overall like we did. I was pretty happy to see that pretty much everyone on the roster got recognized in some way."

That excitement spilled over into disbelief when Surgeon learned that he and senior teammate Charlie Reina were named co-players of the year.

"It was a really surprising reward, actually," said Surgeon. "I didn't expect to get it, let alone be able to share it with someone like Charlie. That was a really great way to cap off my senior season."

Surgeon and Reina were two of three Comets that hit over .500 during the SSC slate, with Reina batting .569 and Surgeon .527.

Reina, a four-year starter at catcher, also drove in 30 runs and scored 26 times in league play for Crater, with four home runs and a 1.059 slugging percentage. Surgeon blasted five homers with 28 runs and 20 RBIs in his third year as the starter at second base.

"It was really cool how the voting came out when it was time to do player of the year," said Crater coach Jay Campbell. "They were both big, big keys to our success, and it was nice they were able to share the award."

For his efforts, Campbell was named coach of the year in the SSC after guiding the Comets to a 15-1 league record.

"It's always nice to get recognized," said Campbell, "but when you've got good players it always makes the coach look good."

The Comets hit .411 as a team in Southern Sky play, with first-teamer Cory Staniforth hitting .509 with 28 RBIs and four home runs to complement Reina and Surgeon.

Also earning first-team honors for Crater were senior pitcher Chris Thomas, junior first baseman Zach Boskovich and the entire outfield of seniors Tyler Davis, Jesse Warren and Matt Hunt.

Thomas went undefeated in league play to pace the Comets on the mound, while Boskovich hit .432, Davis .298, Warren .444 and Hunt .333 in the SSC.

Ashland pitcher Gus Gaviglio and infielder Tysin Senestraro were also named to the first team, with Gaviglio posting a 1.33 ERA during the regular season and Senestraro batting a team-high .500.

Also named to the first team were Eagle Point senior Aaron Willis, who came up big throughout the season for the Eagles, and Mazama senior infielder Jon Larsen.

Crater infielder Cooper Schmelzer (.457) was named to the all-SSC second team, while teammates Tyler Powell and Jake Ellis earned honorable mention pitching honors.

"It was nice to get everyone recognized," Campbell said. "I think that kinda shows the type of team that we have with all the coaches recognizing so many of the boys."

All-Southern Sky Baseball


Player Pos. School Yr.

Charlie Reina C Crater Sr.

Chris Thomas P Crater Sr.

Gus Gaviglio P Ashland Sr.

Zach Boskovich 1B Crater Jr.

Tysin Senestraro IF Ashland Sr.

Josh Surgeon IF Crater Sr.

Cory Staniforth IF Crater Sr.

Jon Larsen IF Mazama Jr.

Aaron Willis UT Eagle Point Sr.

Tyler Davis OF Crater Sr.

Jesse Warren OF Crater Sr.

Matt Hunt OF Crater Sr.

CO-PLAYERS OF THE YEAR — Charlie Reina, Crater, and Josh Surgeon, Crater.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Jay Campbell, Crater.


Player Pos. School Yr.

Lewis Sebrell C Ashland So.

Larry Wagner P Mazama Sr.

Jake Waardenburg P Klam. Union Jr.

Jake Waardenburg 1B Klam. Union Jr.

Logan Fosenburg IF Eagle Point Sr.

Justin Meza IF Ashland Sr.

Kyle Mauch IF Mazama Sr.

Cooper Schmelzer IF Crater Sr.

Daniel Warner OF Eagle Point Sr.

Josh Kendrick OF Eagle Point Sr.

Sheldon Cotts OF Ashland Sr.

HONORABLE MENTION — Brent McCarty, C, Klamath Union, Sr.; Tyler Powell, P, Crater, Sr.; Jake Ellis, P, Crater, Sr.; Rob Holmes, 1B, Mazama, Sr.; Gus Gaviglio, 1B, Ashland, Sr.; Cougar Cruz, IF, Klamath Union, Jr.; Frank Charlton, IF, Eagle Point, Jr.; Owen Baldrica, IF, Ashland, Jr.

Reach reporter Kris Henry at 776-4488, or e-mail

Share This Story