Ashland’s Morey, Crater’s Weaver earn honors

Ashland lineman Drake Morey and Crater running back and defensive back Cade Weaver made the first team on offense and defense in Midwestern League all-star voting.

The all-league squads were selected by the coaches.

Other local first-teamers were Crater junior linebacker Tony Flores and Comets sophomore punter Trever Davis.

The 6-foot-5, 260-pound Morey made it at tackle on offense and across the front on defense.

Weaver ran for 603 yards, averaging 5.6 yards per carry, and nine touchdowns. He also caught 19 passes for 184 yards and two scores.

All-MWL Football

CO-OFFENSIVE PLAYERS OF THE YEAR: Reow Jackson, Sr., Marist; Tyson Haas, Sr., Thurston.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Beau Burnett, Jr., Churchill.

COACH PLAYER OF THE YEAR: AJ Robinson, Churchill.

First Team


CENTER: Cam Gray, Sr., Marist.

GUARD: Eddie Hewitt, Sr., North Eugene; Christian Brown, Jr., Thurston; Quinn Parker, Jr., Churchill.

TACKLE: Drake Morey, Sr., Ashland; Richard Estrella, Jr., Churchill.

TIGHT END: Jax Arnold, Sr., Churchill.

RECEIVER: Tyson Haas, Sr., Thurston; JJ Sargeant, Sr., Thurston; Marshaun Tucker Jr., Jr., Churchill; Lucas Schwin, Sr., Churchill.

RUNNING BACK: Dalton McDaniel, Sr., Churchill; Cade Weaver, Sr., Crater; Aavonte Clark, Sr., Marist.

QUARTERBACK: Reow Jackson, Sr., Marist.

PLACEKICKER: Trevor Groves, Sr., Churchill.


LINEMAN: Drake Morey, Sr., Ashland; Jax Arnold, Sr., Churchill; Akili Alvarado, Sr., Thurston; Jack Courtemanche, Sr., Marist.

LINEBACKER: Tony Flores, Jr., Crater; Beau Burnett, Jr., Churchill; Jacob Husk, Jr., Marist; Jake Hall, Jr., North Eugene.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Reow Jackson, Sr., Marist; Myles Green-Richards, Sr., Churchill; Tyson Haas, Sr., Thurston; Cade Weaver, Sr., Crater.

PUNTER: Trever Davis, So., Crater.

Second Team


CENTER: Danny Flores, Sr., Crater.

GUARD: Patrick Antone, Jr., Thurston; Myles Montgomery, Jr., Ashland.

TACKLE: Jack Courtemanche, Sr., Marist; Dawson Davis, Fr., Crater.

TIGHT END: Ethan Powell, Sr., Thurston.

RECEIVER: Anthony Swanson, Sr., Ashland; Myles Green-Richards, Sr., Churchill; Bailee Robles, Sr., Crater; Kody Pruett, Sr., North Eugene.

RUNNING BACK: Devin Bradd, Fr., Eagle Point; Isaiah Sefo, Jr., North Eugene; Damario Watson, So., Ashland.

QUARTERBACK: Preston Fisher, Sr., Thurston; Jack Blackburn, Jr., Churchill.

PLACEKICKER: Trever Davis, So., Crater.


LINEMAN: Jacob Wagner, Sr., Crater; Jayden Defond, Jr., Churchill; Spencer Wilson, Sr., North Eugene; Jaiden Pasillas, Jr., Churchill.

LINEBACKER: Isaiah Sefo, Jr., North Eugene; Colten Hallet, Jr., Thurston; Sean Bennion, Sr., Churchill; Logan Lowder, Jr., Crater.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Trevor Duran, Sr., Thurston; Lucas Schwinn, Sr., Churchill; Carson Werder, Sr., Thurston; Mitchell Hopkins, Sr., Marist; Tyson Bennion, Sr., Churchill.

PUNTER: Trevor Groves, Sr., Churchill.

Honorable Mention


CENTER: Raymond Wood, Sr., Churchill; Logan Gambill, Jr., North Eugene; Clayton Fraughton, Sr., Eagle Point.

GUARD: David Mora-Flores, Jr., Marist; Luis Mendez, Jr., Marist; Wyatt Kerr, Sr., North Eugene; Tanner Klym, Jr., Springfield; Hunter Mortensen, Jr., Churchill; Hunter Vansickle, So., Crater; Josh Spaulding, Jr., Springfield; Andrew Barlowe, Jr., Eagle Point.

TACKLE: Grant Starck, So., Thurston; Detlef Laughery, Sr., Ashland; Charlie Jacobson, Jr., Eagle Point; Logan Kerr, So., North Eugene; Jacob Memmott, So., Crater; Kenny Weber, So., Marist.

TIGHT END: Beau Burnett, Jr., Churchill; Mitch Hopkins, Sr., Marist; Jimmy Kinyon, Sr., Eagle Point; Luke Arbogast, Sr., North Eugene.

RECEIVER: Jesse Fisher, Sr., Crater; Alec Nolan, Jr., North Eugene; Gabe Ekwall, So., Ashland; Elijah Fields, Jr., Churchill.

RUNNING BACK: Tyson Bennion, Sr., Churchill; Avery Jaramillo, Jr., Thurston; Wesley Kommer, So., Thurston; Cade Harmon, Jr., Thurston; Noah Page, Jr., Eagle Point.

QUARTERBACK: Trever Davis, So., Crater; Drew Williams, Jr., North Eugene.

PLACEKICKER: Tyson Haas, Sr., Thurston; Jace Krier, Sr., Marist.


LINEMAN: Danny Flores, Sr., Crater; Tanner Klym, Jr., Springfield; Patrick Antone, Jr., Thurston; Grant Starck, So., Thurston; Jacob White, Jr., Marist; Kadyn Kimbrough, Sr., Ashland; Colby Howard, So., Thurston; Josh Brunson, Jr., Churchill; Cody Fisher, Jr., Crater; Cam Gray, Sr., Marist.

LINEBACKER: Detlaf Laughery, Sr., Ashland; Myles Montgomery, Jr., Ashland; Jimmy Kinyon, Sr., Eagle Point; Alex Carrillo, Jr., Eagle Point; Jake Riley, So., Thurston; Santino Stranieri, So., Thurston; Devin Bradd, Fr., Eagle Point; Brian Cortez, Sr., Springfield; Finn Hayes, So., Ashland; Tristan Karns, So., North Eugene; Tyler Ennis, So., Crater; Austin Watson, Jr., Thurston.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Noah Page, Jr., Eagle Point; Anthony Swanson, Sr., Ashland; Tyler Becerra, Sr., Thurston; Dylan Kinney, Jr., Crater; Josh Hatten, Jr., Churchill; Kody Pruett, Sr., North Eugene; Matthias Colins, Jr., Marist; Evan Powell, Sr., Churchill; Aidan Fox, Sr., Churchill.

PUNTER: Isaiah Sefo, Jr., North Eugene; Preston Fisher, Sr., Thurston.

Share This Story