Several nab titles at speedway

WHITE CITY — Several points championships were determined at Southern Oregon Speedway Saturday.

John Derby needed only to start the mini stock race to claim his title. He did so in a borrowed car, which made it to lap 19 of the 20-lap A main before breaking down. Curt Ballard slipped past Bob Burkett on the last lap to take the win.

In the super 4s, Joe Guider didn't win but he did beat out Parker Jones by 21 points for the championship. In the race, winner John Barger edged Jones across the finish line.

Duane Orsburn won the street stocks A main and the track title.

In pro stocks, Dustin Knight, last year's rookie of the year, claimed the title with a third-place finish. Brian Johnsen triumphed.

In the feature race, the modified A main, Matt Duste took the lead on the 11th lap after starting in the next-to-last row and held on for the checkered flag. Track champ Mark Wauge dropped out on lap 5 with mechanical problems.


MINI STOCKS — John Derby.

SUPER 4'S — Joe Guider.

STREET STOCKS — Duane Orsburn.

DWARF CARS — R.J. McGahuey.

PRO STOCKS — Dustin Knight.

MODIFIEDS — Mark Wauge.


A MAIN — Curt Ballard, Bob Burkett, Phillip Scott, Josh Bratton, David Steele.

TROPHY DASH — Steve Goetz.

HEAT 1 — David Steele.

HEAT 2 — Steve Goetz.


A MAIN — John Barger, Parker Jones, Krista Hadley, Steve Pierce, Dan King.

TROPHY DASH — John Barger.

HEAT 1 — John Barger.

HEAT 2 — Terry Hadley.


A MAIN — Duane Orsburn, Scott Flowers, Jordan Braaten, Garrett Dees, Scott Rose.

TROPHY DASH — Scott Flowers.

HEAT 1 — Garrett Dees.

HEAT 2 —Jordan Braaten.


A MAIN — R.J. McGahuey, Brock Peters, Mitch Sheeler, John Chrissman, Jerry Houck.

TROPHY DASH — John Chrissman.

HEAT 1 — John Chrissman.

HEAT 2 — Ryan Smith.

HEAT 3 — R.J. McGahuey.


A MAIN — Brian Johnsen, Bob Nelsen, Dustin Knight, Rob Fitzsimmons, Ken Irving.

TROPHY DASH — Bob Nelsen.

HEAT 1 — Rob Fitzsimmons.

HEAT 2 — Brian Johnsen.


A MAIN — Matt Duste, Dennis Silva, Nick Trenchard, Doug Tumey, Rick Hunsley.

TROPHY DASH — Dennis Silva.

HEAT 1 — Tom Berry.

HEAT 2 — Steve Goetz.

Share This Story