tire photo.jpg
IndyCar Indy 500 Auto Racing

Fettinger keeps up hot streak at Southern Oregon Speedway

WHITE CITY — Zach Fettinger maintained his winning streak Saturday night at Southern Oregon Speedway, taking the checkered flag in the 25-lap Modified main event for his third straight win to highlight the night’s action.

Fettinger took the lead on the second lap and led through several caution periods and a last lap restart. Duane Orsburn was a season-best second ahead of Albert Gill, James Welshonse and Jantzen Knips.

Tyler Rodgers of Chico, California, turned in a dominant performance in winning the 20-lap Sport Modified main event, taking the lead from Jimmy Lipke on lap No. 7 and never looking back. Lipke settled for second ahead of Mike Medel, Branden Wilson and David Marble.

Chad Cardoza won his first 20-lap Dwarf Car main event of the season despite briefly losing the lead midway through the race to Mason Lewman. Cardoza regained the lead a lap later and held off reigning champion Brock Peters for the win. Camden Robustelli, Josh King and points leader Cody Peters rounded out the Top 5.

Points leader Charlie Eaton won his third Late Model Lites main event after overtaking Lee Doty, who led the first five laps. Danny Prewitt finished third, followed by Greg Arnold and Eric Aos.

After winning the heat and trophy dash in the Hardtop division, Justin Krossman led most of the main event until Mark Minter took second on a restart on the fifth lap and proceeded to latch onto Krossman’s rear bumper. Minter tried high and low until pulling down low and beating Krossman back to the white flag. Minter led the final lap to win ahead of Krossman, with the duo followed by Greg Hickman, Jamie Britton and Jay Smith.

The track takes a week off before returning for the two-day WSDCA Dwarf Car Nationals Aug. 3-4. For more information, go to southernoregonspeedway.com.

In results Friday, Trevor Grimes captured his third 20-lap 250 Kart main event Friday at Southern Oregon Speedway, with the reigning champion and current points leader rebounding from a recent slump to prevail.

Grimes edged Landon Green and Cadyn Smith in his victory, followed by Vinny DeBenedetti and Taylor Fuller.

Points leader Keaton Augustine scored his third straight 15-lap Box Stock main event victory, finishing ahead of Ryan Hirschbock, Jacob James, Malachi Johnson — up from the beginners ranks — and Fuller.

Austin Bartholomew edged Uriah Sanders in the Beginners Box Stock 12-lap main event, followed by Grant Proctor, Shailene Horn and Carson Henson.

A special 10-lap race was held for the Novice Beginners Box Stock drivers, with heat race winners Isaac Grimes and Bhaltair Edwards exchanging the lead twice during the main event before Edwards gained the final advantage coming out of Turn 4. Caleb Ranney finished third.

Steve Rambo won the 12-lap UAS Speedway Karts main event ahead of teammate Johnny Hoult, who was followed by Brionna Fuller, Lori Fuller and Ed Grubb.

Saturday’s Results


Heat Winners (6 Laps): Albert Gill, Zach Fettinger. Trophy Dash (4 Laps): Albert Gill. Main Event (25 Laps): Zach Fettinger, Duane Orsburn, Albert Gill, James Welshonse and Jantzen Knips.

Sport Modifieds

Heat Winners (6 Laps): Jimmy Lipke, David Marble. Trophy Dash (4 Laps): David Marble. Main Event (20 Laps): Tyler Rodgers, Jimmy Lipke, Mike Medel, Branden Wilson, David Marble.

Dwarf Cars

Heat Winners (6 Laps): Kalvin Morton, Mason Lewman, Brock Peters. A Dash (4 Laps): Cody Peters. B Dash (8 Laps): Josh King. Main Event (20 Laps): Chad Cardoza, Brock Peters, Camden Robustelli, Josh King, Cody Peters.

Late Model Lites

Heat Winner (6 Laps): Lee Doty. Trophy Dash (4 Laps): Lee Doty. Main Event (20 Laps): Charlie Eaton, Lee Doty, Danny Prewitt, Greg Arnold, Eric Aos.


Heat Winner (6 Laps): Justin Krossman. Trophy Dash (4 Laps): Justin Krossman. Main Event (15 Laps): Mark Minter, Justin Krossman, Greg Hickman, Jamie Britton, Jay Smith.

Share This Story