Crater logo.jpg
Crater logo.jpg

Area coaches, Table Rock Sports earn honor

Ten local coaches, one official and media partner Table Rock Sports were among those highlighted by the Oregon Athletic Coaches Association in a ceremony this past Saturday at Autzen Stadium in Eugene.

Crater cross country coach Justin Loftus received the highest honors after being named OACA Cross Country Boys Coach of the Year for the Class 5A level as well as a National Federation of High School Coaches Section 8 Coach of the Year.

Also earning OACA coach of the year honors for 2017-18 were Sean Gallagher, (3A St. Mary’s baseball), Mike Mayben (6A North Medford softball), Jon Gettman (3A Cascade Christian football), Gary Bennett (3A Cascade Christian girls track and field), Jerry Johnson (3A/2A/1A Cascade Christian boys golf), Rob Kleker (3A Cascade Christian volleyball) and Kevin Dixon (4A/3A/2A/1A St. Mary’s girls golf).

Earning recognition as OACA Assistant Coach of the Year were Mike Schaan (Cascade Christian) and Stephen Thomas (St. Mary’s).

Joe Brett and Pete Belcastro of Table Rock Sports were recognized for their efforts as one of two representatives for the OACA’s Media Award.

John Graham of Rogue Valley Softball was one of two recipients as Official of the Year.

Share This Story