OSU's Casey again chosen coach of year

TUCSON, Ariz. — For the second straight year, Oregon State University head baseball coach Pat Casey has been named national coach of the year by Collegiate Baseball newspaper.

Casey led the Beavers to their second consecutive College World Series championship with a 9-3 win over North Carolina Sunday in leading the Beavers to a perfect 5-0 record at the 2007 CWS.

OSU lost seven starting position players off last season's national title team, its top two starting pitchers and its All-American closer.

It seemed to be an almost impossible task to qualify for the College World Series let alone win it all in 2007. But the Beavers did exactly that to become only the fifth team in the 61-year history of the CWS to win back-to-back championships.

Before Casey was hired as head coach in 1995, Oregon State had only qualified for the College World Series once, in 1952, when the Beavers went 0-2. It took Casey 11 years to capture his first Pac-10 title and get the Beavers to the College World Series in 2005 with a 46-12 record.

This season, OSU started the year with a 23-3 record but struggled in the Pac-10 Conference with a sixth-place finish (10-14) as the Beavers barely made the NCAA 64-team regional field. Once there, Casey and his coaching staff led OSU to 10 straight wins to finish 49-18.

Share This Story