Oregon advances 13 to NCAA Championships

AUSTIN, Texas — Oregon survived a nervous final day of the NCAA West Regional to advance 11 individuals and two relays on to the NCAA Championships, which will be held June 9-12 at Hayward Field.

The Ducks wrapped up Sunday night with a school record in the women's 4x400 meter relay at Mike A. Myers Stadium.

Oregon won its heat to automatically advance as the team of Brianne Theisen, Amber Purvis, Michele Williams and Keshia Baker won their heat in 3:30.23, a two-second improvement on the mark they set at the Penn Relays earlier this year.

Oregon advanced three runners to the NCAA meet in both the women's and men's 1,500 meters.

In the men's heats, Andrew Wheating won in a personal-best 3:37.52. Moving behind early pace setter Luke Emanuel early in the race, the senior from Norwich, Vt., tucked in behind the New Mexico runner until the final turn, where he gradually outkicked Emanual to win in a time that was the fourth-fastest in school history.

In heat two, Matthew Centrowitz also won in 3:46.09. He and teammate A.J. Acosta stayed with the lead pack of four throughout the race before the two Ducks accelerated to the top two spots over the final 100 meters. Acosta finished in 3:46.27. Freshman Mac Fleet was 10th in his heat in 3;44.13 and did not advance.

In the women's 1,500, all three Ducks moved on to the NCAA meet. Zoe Buckman and Alex Kosinski took second and fourth in heat two, respectively, to advance. Buckman ran 4:18.93, while Kosinski finished in 4:19.99.

In heat one, Jordan Hasay went out to an early lead, but had to hang on for a fifth-place finish in 4:19.95 to automatically advance to Eugene. Hasay edged Lauren Hardesty of Iowa by half a second for the final automatic spot, though Hardesty also advanced on time.

Oregon will have 33 entries (16 men, 17 women) for the NCAA Championships.

MATZ 14TH IN MARATHON — At Marion, Ind., Southern Oregon's Ryan Matz turned in an impressive performance during the final day of the NAIA National Championships.

Matz finished 14th in the marathon with a time of two hours and 42 minutes.

Seth Lindquist scratched during his three attempts in the triple jump and failed to reach the finals.

SOU finished the championships with Alex Waroff as the lone All-American. Waroff finished sixth in the decathlon.

Share This Story