Ducks, Beavers set for postseason

The Oregon softball team was selected as the No. 3 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament on Sunday.

The Ducks will host Missouri, Wisconsin and Illinois-Chicago in the Eugene Regional, starting Friday at Jane Sanders Stadium.

Missouri and Wisconsin will meet at 6 p.m. in the first round, with Oregon and Illinois-Chicago following at 8:30 p.m. on ESPNU.

This is the eighth straight season the Ducks have advanced to the NCAA Tournament and the 21st time overall.

This year, Oregon (47-6) finished a half-game back of Arizona in the Pac-12 standings. The Ducks started the season on a 35-game winning streak, matching the NCAA record for wins to open a year.

In Corvallis, Natalie Hampton lifted her arms and stood up when she saw Oregon State pop across the screen Sunday.

She then sat down and let out a big sigh of relief.

The rest of her teammates had similar responses.

Hampton, the Beavers’ all-time RBI leader and a redshirt senior, will get to play at least two more games.

Oregon State was one of the last teams announced during the NCAA softball selection show. The Beavers (28-25) will head to Waco, Texas, to take part in a regional with No. 15 overall seed Baylor (43-13), James Madison (50-6) and Kent State (32-26).

OSU faces James Madison at 2 p.m. Pacific on Friday with Baylor and Kent State squaring off at around 4:30 p.m.

For their efforts, both programs had players honored by the Pac-12.

Oregon had four players named first team all-Pac-12 as the Ducks took home a bevy of honors on Monday.

Nikki Udria, Danica Mercado, Megan Kleist and Maggie Balint were all named first-team all-conference while Alexis Mack was a second-team choice and Mia Camuso and Gwen Svekis were third-team selections.

Balint and Camuso plus Miranda Elish and Shannon Rhodes were named Pac-12 all-freshman. Udria added all-defensive team honors.

Oregon State had four athletes earn all-conference honors.

Designated player/first baseman Alysha Everett highlighted the Beavers with a Pac-12 second-team honor. Shortstop McKenna Arriola, pitcher Taylor Cotton and infielder Hampton were named to the Pac-12 third team.

Share This Story