Beavers second at Pac-10 tourney

CORVALLIS — Colby Covington repeated as Pacific-10 Conference champion at 174 pounds and Clayton Jack claimed the first of his career at heavyweight to highlight the Oregon State's wrestling team's night at the Pac-10 Championships Sunday at Gill Coliseum.

As a team, the Beavers finished second, tallying 137.50 points. Boise State was first with 147 points.

Oregon State also will send six wrestlers with qualifying marks to the NCAA Wrestling Championships in Philadelphia in late March.

Wrestlers who earned qualifying marks include Jason Lara at 125, Garrett Drucker at 133, Scott Sakaguchi at 149, Covington at 174, Chad Hanke at 184 and Jack at heavyweight.

Hanke advanced to the NCAA Championships despite not advancing to the finals at 184. He placed fourth and then defeated Cal Poly's Ryan Smith, 3-2, for a true fourth-place finish.

Covington defeated Nick Amuchastegui — a former Phoenix High standout — 10-4, to earn the 174 crown. Covington went 3-0 on the day.

Jack, meanwhile, picked up his title by defeating J.T. Felix of Boise State, 6-4.

The six wrestlers qualified by the Beavers Sunday matches OSU's total from 2010. Covington, Jack and Lara will return after their visits last season while Drucker, Hanke and Sakaguchi will make their first trips.

Oregon State earned five NCAA Championship berths after just the morning session.

Lara was the first Beaver to reach the NCAA Championships. He earned a bye to start, then defeated Ryan Mango, 7-2, via decision to reach the finals.

Drucker downed Kalin Goodsite of Arizona State, 17-3, for a major decision, then won over Stanford's Ryan Paulsen, 9-6, in the semifinals at 133.

Sakaguchi started the day with a bye, then defeated Filip Novachkov of Cal Poly via decision, 5-2.

Before facing Felix, Jack utilized a two-point takedown with just seconds remaining in the third period to down Cal State Bakersfield's David Morgan, 4-3. Jack started off with a 7-4 win over Atticus Disney.

The NCAA Championships will take place at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia March 17-19.

Share This Story