Beavers grab third at Pac-10 championships

TUCSON, Ariz. — UCLA came up big with 197.350 points to win their 15th Pac-10 Gymnastics Championships title Saturday afternoon at the McKale Center.

Stanford came in a close second with a score of 196.550, followed by Oregon State who earned a 195.950.

The Arizona GymCats were barely edged out of third place to secure the fourth spot with a score of 195.875. Following close behind were Washington, California and Arizona State with scores of 193.825, 191.475 and 190.775, respectively.

In the vault rotation, UCLA's Vanessa Zamarripa finished in first place with an impressive score of 9.950. Oregon State's Mani Rodriguez finished in second with a score of 9.900.

On the uneven bears, UCLA's Anna Li's unmatched performance allowed her to clinch first place with the only perfect score of 10.000 of the night. Second and third place went to Oregon State's gymnasts Leslie Mak with a 9.950 and Lauren Ann Chong with a 9.875.

On the floor exercise, UCLA's Britnie Mccullough and Stanford's Carly Janiga tied for first place with a remarkable 9.925 finish and Oregon State's Makayla Stambaugh finished with a 9.900.

Oregon State's Lauren Ann Chong finished in first place on the beam with a 9.950 and Vanessa Zamarripa and teammate Mizuki Sato tied for second with a notable score of 9.900.

Pac-10 Awards were handed out after the meet. Oregon State's head coach Tanya Chaplin earned her fourth Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor. Freshman of the Year went to Makayla Stambaugh of Oregon State and Gymnast of the Year went to UCLA's Vanessa Zamarripa.

Share This Story