John May, left, and Madison Murillo were chosen Saturday as king and queen at the annual Pear Blossom Junior Royalty Pageant. Photo courtesy of Randal Seymour

Rademacher named Pear Blossom Queen

Myra Rademacher, of Eagle Point High School, is the 2016 Pear Blossom Queen. She was chosen from a field of nine Jackson County high school senior girls who competed Saturday evening for the title at North Medford High School.

Earlier in the day, 5-year-olds John May and Madison Murillo were named the king and queen of the 63rd annual Pear Blossom Junior Royalty Pageant held at North Medford.

The Pear Blossom princesses who competed Saturday were Melina Lariz, Crater High School; Grayce Gaylor, Logos Public Charter School; Maddie Landis, Phoenix High School; Della Birdsall, Rogue River High School; Emily Riehlman, St. Mary’s School; Myra Rademacher, Eagle Point High School; Jaci Brumble, North Medford; Ashli Rigel, Prospect Charter School; and Hanna Anderson, South Medford High School.

The girls were judged on school leadership skills, academic achievement, community involvement, an interview with the judges, writing and presenting an essay, and answering impromptu questions on stage.

Each princess earned a $500 college scholarship. The queen will reign over the Pear Blossom Parade April 9, and will receive a $2,000 college scholarship sponsored by Kogap Enterprises.

Over the past 25 years, the Pear Blossom Festival Association has given out more than $100,000 in scholarships to more than 150 girls. The pageant was created in 1991 by Darcey Mann-Self, Val James and the late Patti Bills, and was created to add a new dimension to the Pear Blossom Festival.

Share This Story