The following news items were drawn from the archives of the Mail Tribune 100 years ago.
June 10, 1918
NEW WAGE SCALE FOR OREGON WOMEN IN EFFECT JUNE 12
On June 12, the new wage schedule ordered by the Industrial Welfare commission of the state of Oregon goes into effect. It provides:
1. No person shall employ any woman in the state of Oregon, outside of the city of Portland, in any mercantile establishment for more than nine hours in any one day, nor for more that fifty-four hours in any one week.
2. No person shall employ any experienced woman in the state of Oregon, outside of the city of Portland, in any mercantile establishment at a weekly wage rate of less than $11.10.
3. The length of the apprenticeship term for women workers in mercantile establishments shall be eight months, and such apprenticeship term shall be divided into three periods as follows: First period, one month; Second period, three months; Third period, four months. No person shall employ any woman in any mercantile establishment for the first period at a weekly wage of less than $7.20; nor for the second period at a weekly wage of less than $8.40; nor for the third period at a weekly wage of less than $9.60.
4. No person shall employ any woman in the state of Oregon in a mercantile establishment for more than six days in one calendar week.
5. No person shall employ any woman in any mercantile establishment for more than six hours of continuous labor without a rest period of at least forty-five minutes.
6. No person shall employ any woman in the state of Oregon, outside of the city of Portland, in a mercantile establishment other than cigar stands in hotels and confectionery stores, later than 8:30 o’clock p.m.
“Mercantile Occupation” shall include the work of those employed in establishments operated for the purpose of trade in the purchase or sale of any goods or merchandise, and includes the sales force, the wrapping employees, the auditing or check inspection force, the shoppers in the mail order department, the receiving, marking and stock room employees, and sheet music saleswomen.
Said order shall become effective from and after June 12, 1918, and from and after said date Orders No. 1 to No. 5 and No. 8 inclusive are rescinded.
After such order is effective, it shall be unlawful for any employer in the state of Oregon affected thereby to fail to observe and comply therewith, and any person who violates said order shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) not more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than ten days nor more than three months, or by both such fine and imprisonment in the discretion of the court.
For more stories like this, check out “The Archive,” a weekly podcast series at mailtribune.com/podcasts