Holidays, furloughs put into the mix

How many state holidays are there in Oregon? It seems to me they are beginning to pile up. At least I'm seeing more frequent closures of state offices. Or am I just getting grumpy in my old age?

— Bob J., Medford

You very well may be getting grumpy, but it could be that you simply need a holiday, Bob.

As for the state, there are nine holidays listed in the latest Oregon Blue Book, the bible of all things Oregon.

Those holidays include New Year's Day, Martin Luther King Jr.'s birthday, Presidents Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Of course, the governor or the president of the United States can declare a special holiday for mourning, rejoicing or other special observance.

And you are no doubt aware that when a holiday falls on a Saturday, the preceding Friday is the day that is taken off. Moreover, if it falls on Sunday, then the following Monday is the day the holiday is celebrated.

But there also are budgetary furloughs in which state workers have a day off without pay. For instance, Friday was such a day for many state government offices and state courts, which were closed.

That closure saved the state government about $2 million. It was the second state furlough day of the year, with three more scheduled.

However, public safety doesn't get those days off. State troopers and prisons operated as usual.

We hope that makes you feel less grumpy, Bob.

Send questions to "Since You Asked," Mail Tribune Newsroom, P.O. Box 1108, Medford, OR 97501; by fax to 541-776-4376; or by e-mail to

Share This Story