Mail Tribune earns awards in statewide contest

The Mail Tribune captured eight first-place awards and 19 awards overall in the annual Better Newspaper Contest sponsored by the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association. The awards were announced Thursday and Friday at the association's annual convention, held this year near Bend.

Mail Tribune first-place winners were:

  • Best Editorial Page, Opinion Page Editor Gary E. Nelson.

  • Best Editorial, Associate Editor Bob Hunter, for an editorial on the historical society funding crisis, "We shouldn't turn our back on history."

  • Best Educational Coverage, Teresa Thomas, for a story on the lack of school-based health care in the Rogue River School District, "Rural reality."

  • Best Column, Kris Henry, for an assortment of columns including "North's basketball star Schireman thrives on track." 

  • Best Sports Story, Tim Trower, for a story on the discovery of long-lost Olympic medals earned by golfer Chandler Egan, "A true medalist."

  • Best News Photo, Jamie Lusch, for his shot of a man visiting an Eagle Point National Cemetery grave site on Memorial Day, "Honoring the fallen."

  • Best Overall Website, Online Editor Ryan Pfeil.

  • Best Web Design, Online Editor Ryan Pfeil.

Competing in the circulation category of 10,001 to 25,000, the Mail Tribune earned second place in the General Excellence category.

Tribune staffers also earned second-place awards:

Staffers were awarded the following third place awards:

Joe Zavala, a sports and news reporter for the Mail Tribune's sister paper, the Ashland Daily Tidings, earned first place awards for Best Column and Best Sports Story and a second place for Best Feature Story. The Tidings competes in the 10,000-and-under circulation category.

Share This Story