Local grads earn prestigious Ford Family scholarships

Nine students from Jackson and Josephine counties have earned prestigious Ford Family Foundation scholarships.

The local students were among 110 students from Oregon and 14 students from Siskiyou County, California, named as new Ford Scholars. This year’s Ford Scholars were chosen from 7,242 applicants. Local winners, with their high schools and planned colleges, include:

Medford: David Barrera, North Medford High School, Oregon State University; Pat Cisneros, North Medford High School, University of Portland; Gabriela Safay, Logos Public Charter School, Oregon State University (corrected).

Central Point: Ty James, Crater High School, Oregon Institute of Technology.

Ashland: Jack Diab, Ashland High School, Southern Oregon University; Aspyn Gottschalk, Ashland High School, Oregon State University.

Eagle Point: Talisha Bullock, Eagle Point High School, University of Oregon.

Grants Pass: Ming-Chu Chiu, Grants Pass High School, Oregon State University; Alexander Vasquez, Grants Pass High School, Willamette University; Taylor White, Grants Pass High School, Linfield College.

Eligibility criteria include financial need and merit qualifications. In addition, scholars must attend an accredited, nonprofit college in their home state and pursue a bachelor’s degree full-time. The renewable scholarship covers 90 percent of each student’s unmet financial need for each academic year.

Since 1994, the foundation’s scholarship programs have awarded students more than $179 million.

Kenneth W. Ford built his company, Roseburg Forest Products Co., into one of the largest privately held companies in the United States. He established the Ford Family Foundation in 1957 after the business had experienced two decades of growth.

Other scholarship programs funded by the foundation include the Ford Opportunity Scholarship Program, the Ford ReStart Scholarship Program and a scholarship program for the children of Roseburg Forest Products employees.

For more on the Ford Family Foundation, see

Share This Story