SOU theater director named Fulbright scholar

Eric Levin, a professor and director of theater arts at Southern Oregon University, has been awarded a Fulbright scholarship to study in Ireland during the 2017-18 academic year.

Levin will teach for a semester at the University of Ireland in Galway and will participate in that university’s international Eugene O’Neill Conference.

Levin, who has been an SOU faculty member for 12 years, directs the university’s Master of Theatre Studies Program for theater teachers. He also teaches theater literature and foundational courses.

He holds a bachelor’s degree in dramatic arts from the University of California, a master’s degree in theater from Western Oregon University and a doctorate in theater arts from the University of Oregon. He previously served as an assistant professor of theater at Dickinson State University in North Dakota, an adjunct professor at California State University-Fresno and a part-time instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, California. He has also taught secondary school in Oregon and California.

Levin’s work has appeared in publications including the Journal of American Theatre and Drama, The Eugene O’Neill Review and Theatre Research International.

His theater experience includes set and lighting design, technical direction, acting and directing.

Levin is SOU’s 16th Fulbright scholar and the first in four years. The most recent previous awardee was English professor Diana Maltz, who used her 2013-14 scholarship at the University of Liverpool to study lifestyle aestheticism, visual culture and family identity in late Victorian and Edwardian England.

Fulbright scholarships are part of a merit-based, international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. It was founded by former U.S. Sen. J. William Fulbright and has awarded scholarships each year since 1948. It currently offers about 8,000 grants annually for graduate study, research, lecturing and teaching in more than 160 participating countries.

Share This Story