Wozniacki beats Peng in Brussels Open final

BRUSSELS — Top-ranked Caroline Wozniacki overcame a thigh injury to defeat China's Peng Shuai 2-6, 6-3, 6-3 and win the inaugural Brussels Open.

Wozniacki won her fourth tournament this year, the most on the WTA Tour, and her first win on red clay ahead of the French Open.

Starting slowly after a tough three-set win over Francesca Schiavone late Friday, the Dane improved in the second set against the 31st-ranked Peng.

Wozniacki needed medical treatment on her left thigh in the third set before clinching victory.

She played the rest of the match with tape on her leg but said it wouldn't affect her opener at Roland Garros. She will play 40-year-old Kimiko Date-Krumm of Japan.

With two tense three-setters in as many days, Wozniacki played over five hours of top tennis in just over 24 hours before heading for Paris.

Open de Nice

At Nice, France, Nicolas Almagro of Spain rallied past Victor Hanescu of Romania 6-7 (5), 6-3, 6-3 in the Open de Nice final to earn his 10th career title.

In the final set, the third-seeded Almagro hit a backhand winner down the line to set up a break point that he converted with an inside-out forehand winner for a 4-2 lead.

Almagro had two aces in a row to win the match and complete preparation for the French Open, which begins today. Of his 31 wins on tour this season, 24 have been on clay.

He improved to 4-0 against Hanescu.

World Team Cup

At Duesseldorf, Germany, Germany overcame defending champions Argentina 2-1 to win the World Team Cup for a record fifth time.

Florian Mayer put Germany ahead by defeating Juan Monaco 7-6 (4), 6-0, but Juan Ignacio Chela pulled Argentina even when he beat Philipp Kohlschreiber 6-4, 7-6 (4).

Kohlschreiber then teamed with Philipp Petzschner to defeat Chela and Maximo Gonzalez 6-3, 7-6 (5).

Argentina was playing in the final for the seventh time and seeking to become the first team to claim five victories. All three of its defeats in the final have come against Germany.

Argentina was bidding to become the third nation to successfully defend its title after the United States in 1984-85 and Chile in 2003-04.

Share This Story