Stenhouse Jr. wins Nationwide Series title

HOMESTEAD, Fla. — Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won the Nationwide Series title long before the checkered flag dropped at the season finale Saturday. He clinched his first championship about 30 laps into the 200-lap race, securing the title when six cars officially dropped out of the 300-mile event at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Stenhouse was running fourth when NASCAR officials announced he had wrapped up the title. He finished second behind Brad Keselowski. Carl Edwards was third, followed by Clint Bowyer, Denny Hamlin and Elliott Sadler.

Edwards clinched the owner's title for Roush, who is looking to become the first owner in NASCAR history to win both the Sprint Cup and Nationwide championships in the same season. Edwards leads Tony Stewart by three points heading into Sunday's season finale.

Edwards and Stenhouse parked their cars nose to nose and did a double burnout to celebrate.

For Stenhouse, it was something he couldn't have imagined early last season.

"We were down in the dumps," Stenhouse said. "This crew right here, they didn't give up on me. They were with us all through last year and just glad to be here."

Sadler, who started the race 41 points behind Stenhouse, finished second in the season standings.

Share This Story