State-champion Mustangs top stars

It was a year for repeats for the Hidden Valley girls soccer team.

The Mustangs, who won their second straight Class 4A/3A/2A/1A state championship on Saturday, placed seniors Ashley Seal, Denise Powell and Sam Edwards on the District 6 first team for the second consecutive year, with Seal nabbing player- of-the-year honors.

North Valley coach Dick Matti was named coach of the year after leading the Knights to an 11-1 record in District 6 play.

First-teamers Taylor Vandehey and Lauren Crawford headlined North Valley's standouts with Karli Clark, Megan Suess, Emily Churnside and Mia Robles making the second team all-conference.

St. Mary's and Phoenix each added two first team selections.

Whitney Adderson and Sarah Seus helped the Crusaders to a 9-3 conference record, good for third in District 6, while Carlee Storey and Molly Hobson anchored the Pirates all season.


Taylor Vandehey, NV Jr.

Lauren Crawford, NV So.

Ashley Seal, HV Sr.

Denise Powell, HV Sr.

Sam Edwards, HV Sr.

Carlee Storey, Phx Jr.

Molly Hobson, Phx Sr.

Whitney Adderson, St. Mary's Sr.

Sarah Seus, St. Mary's So.

Lisel Frazier, Hen Sr.

Annabel Purtzer, CC Jr.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Ashley Seal, Hidden Valley.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Dick Matti, North Valley.


Chelsea Giesen, HV Sr.

Karli Clark, NV Sr.

Megan Suess, NV Sr.

Emily Churnside, NV Sr.

Mia Robles, NV So.

Ellie Misner, HV Jr.

Ariana Fleischman, HV Jr.

Megan Burr, Phx Sr.

Melanie Johnson, Hen Jr.

Whitney Dunlap, RR Sr.

Angie Caschera, RR Sr.

HONORABLE MENTION — Claire Willing, NV, Sr.; Alyssa Warren, NV, Jr.; Becky Egli, NV, Sr.; Matti Lindgren, HV, Jr.; Jennifer Carter, HV, So.; Katie Figoni, HV, So.; Aleesha Zepetello, HV; Rebecca Singleton, Phx., Sr.; Hilary Sinner, Phx., Fr.; Jordan Ceremony, Phx., Sr.; Tara Fry, Phx., Sr.; Mackenzie Kreiser, St. Mary's, Fr.; Jessica Reid, St. Mary's, Jr.; Hanna Heycke, St. Mary's, Jr.; Nikki Steinsiek, St. Mary's, Jr.; Kelsey Gross, St. Mary's, Jr.; Elizabeth Webb, Hen., Jr.; Claire Whitmore, Hen.; So.; Alisha Castle, Hen., Fr.; Samantha Chandler, Hen.; Jordan Reyes, RR, Sr.; Shawna Turnham, RR, Jr.; Tessa Whipple, RR, Sr.; Lindsey Blodgett, CC, Jr.; Jill Bennett, CC, Sr.; Becky Eustace, CC, Fr.

Share This Story