Singler, Bennion, Young among OSA finalists

St. Mary's senior Sarah Bennion, Phoenix senior Alex Young and former South Medford High standout Kyle Singler are among a list of finalists for the 2011 Oregon Sports Awards.

Winners will be announced Feb. 12 at the Nike World Campus in Beaverton, with Ahmad Rashad again serving as the master of ceremonies.

Bennion and Young are each up for the Johnny Carpenter Award for the prep athlete of the year, with Bennion among eight finalists for the Class 4A/3A/2A/1A female award and Young among eight finalists for the 4A/3A/2A/1A male award. Singler is among five finalists for the Bill Hayward Award for amateur male athlete of the year.

Bennion was a finalist for the Wendy's High School Heisman Award after being named Oregon's winner. She's competed on the Crusaders' track and cross country teams that have won state titles and has been a starter in soccer for St. Mary's, which was state runner-up in 2010.

Other finalists in Bennion's category include Santiam Christian's Sara Almen (volleyball, track and field), Maddye Dinsmore of Burns (volleyball, basketball, track and field), Kristan Holding of Damascus Christian (track and field, volleyball), Whitney Koehnke of Regis (softball, volleyball, basketball), Crook County's Makayla Lindburg (volleyball), Brittney Niebergall of La Salle (basketball, softball) and Glide's Alexa Skinner (softball).

Young helped lead Phoenix's boys basketball team to the Class 4A state title last season and was named 4A player of the year. He has signed to play next season at the University of California Irvine and currently has helped the Pirates to a 14-3 start in his senior campaign.

Other finalists in Young's category include Lowell's Zac Cardwell (wrestling, football), Newport's Oshay Dunmore (track and field, football, basketball), Dayton's AJ Hedgecock (basketball, football, track and field), Santiam Christian's Jeff Hendrix (football, baseball, basketball), Quinn Johnston of Gold Beach (wrestling, football), Tanner Omlid of Central (basketball, football, baseball) and Horizon Christian's Jordan Tebbutt (basketball).

Singler wrapped up his career at Duke University as the fourth-leading scorer in program history (2,392 points) and second-winningest player (125-23) and currently is playing basketball professionally in Spain for Real Madrid. He was drafted No. 33 overall by the Detroit Pistons in the NBA draft this past June.

Other finalists in Singler's category include the University of Oregon's Matthew Centrowitz (track and field) and LaMichael James (football), the University of Kentucky's Terrence Jones (basketball) and Portland State University's Connor Kavanaugh (football).

The Bill Hayward Award finalists for female athlete of the year are the University of Oregon's Jordan Hasay (track and field, cross country) and Brianne Theisen (track and field), Oregon State's Leslie Mak (gymnastics), Portland State's Eryn Jones (basketball) and the University of Louisville's Shoni Schimmel (basketball).

Finalists for the Slats Gill Award for sportsperson of the year include three head coaches in football (Chip Kelly of Oregon, Nigel Burton of Portland State and Steve Coury of Lake Oswego High), the Portland Timbers' Merritt Paulson and Linfield College's Jackson Vaughan (softball).

For the Harry Glickman Award for professional athlete of the year, the female finalists are Stephanie Cox (soccer), Shalane Flanagan (track and field), Kara Goucher (track and field), Megan Rapinoe (soccer) and Mariel Zagunis (fencing). The male finalists include Ashton Eaton (track and field), Jacoby Ellsbury (baseball), Kevin Love (basketball), Galen Rupp (track and field) and Ndamukong Suh (football).

The Johnny Carpenter Award finalists in the 6A/5A female category are Martenne Bettendorf of Central Catholic (volleyball), Kaylin Bing of Roseburg (swimming), Jesuit's Elizabeth Brenner (basketball, track and field, volleyball), Summit's Megan Fristoe (cross country, track and field), Taylor Lakey of Southridge (swimming), Tualatin's Anna-Marie Popma (soccer), Jen Reese of Clackamas (basketball) and Springfield's Mercedes Russell (basketball).

In the same award's 6A/5A male category, the finalists include Liberty's Brett Bafaro (baseball, football), Barlow's Ryan Crouser (track and field), Jake Ehlers of Corvallis (basketball), Lake Oswego's Steven Long (football), Hillsboro's Mike Rodriguez (wrestling), Brennan Scarlett of Central Catholic (football, basketball, track and field, swimming), Aloha's Thomas Tyner (track and field, football) and Jesuit's Kyle Wiltjer (basketball).

Finalists for the Nike-Steve Prefontaine Award for prep distance runner of the year are Jackson Baker of Franklin, Alex Dillard of The Dalles Wahtonka, Brian Eimstad of South Eugene and Summit's Fristoe and Ashley Maton.

Finalists for the Ad Rutschman Award for small-college female athlete of the year are Linfield's Staci Doucette (softball) and Emilee Lepp (softball), Oregon Tech's Jackie Imhof (softball), Irene Johnson of George Fox (track and field) and Concordia's Kayla Xavier (track and field).

The finalists for the male category are Linfield's Drew Fisher (football) and Tim Wilson (baseball), Oregon Tech's Joseph Foster (basketball) and Bryant Sentman (basketball, track and field) and Eastern Oregon's Robbie Haynie (track and field).

The Oregon Sports Awards are voted on by media and other sports professionals from around the state.

Reach reporter Kris Henry at 541-776-4488,, or

Share This Story