Pear Blossom queen to be crowned

Eight high school seniors from Jackson County will compete for the honor of 2009 Pear Blossom queen tonight.

The 19th annual Senior Royalty Scholarship Pageant starts at 7 p.m. at the North Medford High School auditorium. Entertainment includes the Dance Arts Center and the third annual Pear Blossom Ballroom Dance Competition, in which couples from Kranenburg's Dance Steps Studio will compete for $1,000 in cash prizes donated by Jeff Palpant, financial adviser for Smith Barney.

The Pear Blossom princesses are Olivia Florio, of Ashland; Heather O'Keefe, of Butte Falls; Anna Sosey, of Cascade Christian; Jamee Davidson, of Crater; Jessica Reid, of North Medford; Abbigale Foster, of Phoenix; Sasha Baugh, of South Medford; and Erin Hedrick, of Eagle Point.

They are judged on school leadership skills, academic achievement, community involvement, an interview with the judges, writing and presenting an essay, and answering impromptu questions on stage.

Each princess earns a $500 college scholarship. The queen will ride in the Pear Blossom Parade on April 11 and receive a $2,000 college scholarship.

Doors for the pageant open at 6:30 p.m. Admission is $8 for adults, $6 for students and free for children younger than 6.

Share This Story