High school students receive scholarships

CENTRAL POINT — Grange Co-op awarded scholarships to high school students during its annual meeting Wednesday night.

Jordin Scholer of Henley High School received the top scholarship of $1,500; seven $500 scholarships also were awarded to students living in Jackson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake, Curry, Douglas, Coos, Siskiyou, Del Norte, Modoc or Humboldt counties. Students must have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 and have participated in Future Farmers of America, 4-H, Horticulture, Distributive Education Clubs of America, Future Business Leaders of America or student body leadership.

In addition to Scholer, other students receiving scholarships include: Michelle Branch, Eagle Point High School; Alexia Hulen, St. Mary's School; Daniel Killam, Cascade Christian High School; Kristen Harvey, New Hope Christian School; Devon Andrade, Hidden Valley High School; Rebecca Armstrong, Bonanza High School; Drew Nevala, Mazama High School; Josie Stickel, Bonanza High School; Kaitlyn Altenbach, Coquille High School; Cameron Dale, Fortuna High School; Elizabeth Ricci, Mount Shasta High School; and Madeline Boyd, Tulelake High School.

Each student submitted an essay describing his or her scholastic career, intended undergraduate education and intended career field, along with a letter of recommendation from a current teacher, counselor, administrator, or employer.

Share This Story