'Earthquake' Enyart among college HOF inductees

SOUTH BEND, Ind. — Former Medford High and Oregon State standout Bill Enyart was among 14 players and two coaches inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Enyart, nicknamed "Earthquake", led Medford High to a state title in 1962 as a sophomore.

Following his time at Medford High, Enyart starred at Oregon State. He went on to become a two-time first-team All-American in 1968.

Enyart is the second OSU player to enter the college HOF, joining Terry Baker and former coach Tommy Prothro.

Also inducted was former Michigan coach Lloyd Carr, who used his time during interviews to answer questions about former Penn State coach Joe Paterno, who died in January in the wake of the Jerry Sandusky sex-abuse scandal.

Carr said he's not qualified to offer an opinion on whether a statue of Paterno on the Penn State campus should be taken down.

Critics have called for the sculpture to be taken down after the Freeh report concluded that Paterno was aware of the 1998 allegations against Sandusky and that the former Nittany Lions' head coach was involved in the decision to hide a 2001 incident from authorities.

The Freeh report's conclusions about Paterno were very difficult to hear, Carr said.

"It's really a hard issue for people who knew him from this standpoint: Nobody, nobody defends what happened to those kids," Carr said. "And the jury spoke to that. But you know the environment is such that a lot of people find that very difficult to say anything positive, you know. And that was not the Joe Paterno I knew."

Carr said the most important issue is healing for the victims.

"We can all hope that those kids who are now men that they receive some justice, as much as they can because what they endured was beyond comprehension," Carr said.

Carr coached the Wolverines for 13 years, had a .753 winning percentage, won five Big Ten championships and captured a national title.

Also honored at ceremonies Saturday night were former Ohio State running back and Heisman Trophy winner Eddie George and Deion Sanders, the Florida State defensive back who went on to play in both the World Series and the Super Bowl as one of the most versatile athletes ever.

Share This Story